Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

AH 0002
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Academy of Ancient Music Logo
AH 0002
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)
BACH, J.S.: St. John Passion (Academy of Ancient Music Choir and Orchestra, Egarr)

BACH, J.S.: St. John Passion (Academy of Ancient Music Choir and Orchestra, Egarr)

The Classical Shop
release date: April 2014

Recorded in 24 Bit / 44.1Khz
album available as a Studio Master
Originally recorded in 2014


Academy of Ancient Music


Richard Egarr


James Gilchrist

Sarah Connolly

Matthew Rose

Elizabeth Watts

Philippa Hyde

Andrew Kennedy

Ashley Riches

Christopher Purves

Richard Latham

Richard Egarr


Academy of Ancient Music Choir



Saint Jude on the Hill, London, UK


Record Label
Academy of Ancient Music




Total Time - 104:39
background image
onquestion marklosslessquestion markStudio Fileoffquestion mark 
*if you purchase a higher level format, we include the lower formats free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless or better

BACH, J.S.: St. John Passion (Academy of Ancient Music Choir and Orchestra, Egarr)




Select Complete Single Disc for

St. John Passion, BWV 245

1 Part I: Chorale: Herr, unser Herrscher (Chorus) 07:09
2 Part I: Recitative: Jesus ging mit seinen Jungern (Evangelist, Jesus) 01:05
3 Part I: Chorale: Jesum von Nazareth (Chorus) 00:09
4 Part I: Recitative: Jesus spricht zu ihnen (Evangelist, Jesus) 00:35
5 Part I: Chorale: Jesum von Nazareth! (Chorus) 00:09
6 Part I: Recitative: Jesus antwortete (Evangelist, Jesus) 00:22
7 Part I: Chorale: O grosse Lieb (Chorus) 00:40
8 Part I: Recitative: Auf dass das Wort erfullet wurde (Evangelist, Jesus) 01:01
9 Part I: Chorale: Dein Will gescheh, Herr Gott, zugleich (Chorus) 00:43
10 Part I: Recitative: Die Schar aber und der Oberhauptmann (Evangelist) 00:45
11 Part I: Aria: Von den Strikken meiner Sunden (Alto) 04:30
12 Part I: Recitative: Simon Petrus aber folgete Jesu nach (Evangelist) 00:13
13 Part I: Aria: Ich folge dir gleichfalls (Soprano) 03:52
14 Part I: Recitative: Derselbige Junger war dem Hohepriester bekannt (Evangelist, Ancilla, Petrus, Jesus, Servus) 03:02
15 Part I: Chorale: Wer hat dich so geschlagen (Chorus) 01:20
16 Part I: Recitative: Und Hannas sandte ihn gebunden (Evangelist) 00:22
17 Part I: Chorale: Bist du nicht seiner Junger einer (Chorus) 00:25
18 Part I: Recitative: Er leugnete und sprach (Evangelist, Petrus, Servus) 01:26
19 Part I: Aria: Ach, mein Sinn (Tenor) 02:54
20 Part I: Chorale: Petrus, der nicht denkt zuruck (Chorus) 00:57

Select Complete Single Disc for
1 Part II: Chorale: Christus, der uns selig macht (Chorus) 00:57
2 Part II: Recitative: Da fuhreten sie Jesum (Evangelist, Pilatus) 00:36
3 Part II: Chorale: Ware dieser nicht ein Ubeltater (Chorus) 00:55
4 Part II: Recitative: Pilatus sprach zu ihnen (Evangelist, Pilatus) 00:11
5 Part II: Chorale: Wir durfen niemand toten (Chorus) 00:34
6 Part II: Recitative: Auf dass erfullet wurde das Wort Jesu (Evangelist, Pilatus, Jesus) 01:36
7 Part II: Chorale: Ach grosser Konig (Chorus) 01:13
8 Part II: Recitative: Da sprach Pilatus zu ihm (Evangelist, Pilatus, Jesus) 01:14
9 Part II: Chorale: Nicht diesen, diesen nicht (Chorus) 00:10
10 Part II: Recitative: Barrabas aber war ein Morder (Evangelist) 00:25
11 Part II: Arioso: Betrachte, meine Seel (Bass) 02:07
12 Part II: Aria: Erwage, wie sein blutgefarbter Rucken (Tenor) 08:10
13 Part II: Recitative: Und die kriegsknechte flochten eine Krone (Evangelista) 00:19
14 Part II: Chorale: Sei gegrusset, lieber Judenkonig (Chorus) 00:32
15 Part II: Recitative: Und gaben ihm Backenstreiche (Evangelist, Pilatus) 00:59
16 Part II: Chorale: Kreuzige, kreuzige (Chorus) 00:52
17 Part II: Pilatus sprach zu ihnen (Evangelista, Pilatus) 00:18
18 Part II: Chorale: Wir haben ein Gesetz (Chorus) 01:08
19 Part II: Recitative: Da Pilatus das Wort horete (Evangelist, Pilatus, Jesus) 01:18
20 Part II: Chorale: Durch dein Gefangnis, Gottes Sohn (Chorus) 00:42
21 Part II: Recitative: Die Juden aber schrieen und sprachen (Evangelist) 00:04
22 Part II: Chorale: Lassest du diesen los (Chorus) 01:08
23 Part II: Recitative: Da Pilatus das Wort horete (Evangelist, Pilatus) 00:40
24 Part II: Chorale: Weg, weg mit dem (Chorus) 00:57
25 Part II: Recitative: Spricht Pilatus zu ihnen (Evangelist, Pilatus) 00:12
26 Part II: Chorale: Wir haben keinen Konig (Chorus) 00:08
27 Part II: Recitative: Da uberantwortete er ihn (Evangelist) 00:47
28 Part II: Aria: Eilt, ihr angefochtnen Seelen (Bass, Chorus) 03:42
29 Part II: Recitative: Allda kreuzigten sie ihn (Evangelist) 01:22
30 Part II: Chorale: Schreibe nicht: der Juden konig (Chorus) 00:31
31 Part II: Recitative: Pilatus antwortet (Evangelist, Pilatus) 00:19
32 Part II: Chorale: In meines Herzens Grunde (Chorus) 00:50
33 Part II: Recitative: Die Kriegsknechte aber (Evangelist) 00:34
34 Part II: Chorale: Lasset uns den nicht zerteilen (Chorus) 01:33
35 Part II: Recitative: Auf dass erfullet werde die Schrift (Evangelist, Jesus) 01:39
36 Part II: Chorale: Er nahm alles wohl in acht (Chorus) 00:51
37 Part II: Recitative: Und von Stund annahm sie der Junger zu sich (Evangelist) 01:17
38 Part II: Aria: Es ist vollbracht (Alto) 05:28
39 Part II: Recitative: Und neigte das Haupt und verschied (Evangelist) 00:21
40 Part II: Aria: Mein teurer Heiland, lass dich fragen (Bass, Chorus) 05:08
41 Part II: Recitative: Und siehe da, der Vorhang (Evangelist) 00:10
42 Part II: Arioso: Mein Herz, indem die ganze Welt (Tenor) 00:38
43 Part II: Aria: Zerfliesse, mein Herze (Soprano) 07:24
44 Part II: Recitative: Die Juden aber (Evangelist) 01:59
45 Part II: Chorale: O hilf, Christe, Gottes Sohn (Chorus) 00:53
46 Part II: Recitative: Darnach bat Pilatum (Evangelist) 02:04
47 Part II: Chorale: Ruht wohl, ihr heiligen Gebeine (Chorus) 06:27
48 Part II: Chorale: Ach Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein (Chorus) 01:38
  Richard Egarr Soloist
 James Gilchrist
 Sarah Connolly
 Matthew Rose
 Elizabeth Watts
 Philippa Hyde
 Andrew Kennedy
 Richard Latham
 Christopher Purves
 Ashley Riches
  Richard Egarr Conductor

JS Bach’s St John Passion is an intensely personal experience, bringing to life the humanity of the passion story. Combining raw viscerality with moments of exquisite intimacy, it was written soon after Bach’s arrival as Kantor at Leipzig’s Thomasschule. Keen to impress a new congregation, Bach produced a setting of the age-old passion story which overshadowed almost every piece of liturgical music the world had previously known. Our recording aims to capture the authenticity and vivacity of the very first Good Friday performance at Leipzig’s Nikolaikirche.

Over the past 40 years the AAM has made over 300 recordings of baroque and classical music, winning Brit and Grammy Awards along the way. This is our first-ever recording of the St John Passion. With a superlative cast including James Gilchrist, Sarah Connolly, Andrew Kennedy, Elizabeth Watts, Christopher Purves and Matthew Rose, and directed by Richard Egarr, this is a landmark project.

                        Star Review

              ***** Highly Recommended

"...Soloists and chorus own the drama with an arresting, spiritually challenging intensity and the playing of the AAM is faultless and impassioned in equal measure: here is truely a venerable masterwork made new."

Rebecca Tavener - Choir & Organ magazine - March/April 2014

No User Reviews Found.