Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

CX 7680
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
CPO Logo
CX 7680
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

LEHAR, F.: Furstenkind (Das) (Munich Radio Orchestra, Schirmer)

The Classical Shop
release date: August 2013

Originally recorded in 2013


Munich Radio Orchestra


Ulf Schirmer


Mary Mills


Chen Reiss


Bavarian Radio Chorus



Live recording, Munchen, Prinzregententheater, Germany


Record Label




Total Time - 123:02
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

LEHAR, F.: Furstenkind (Das) (Munich Radio Orchestra, Schirmer)




Select Complete Single Disc for

Das Furstenkind

1 I. Introduction: Prelude 2:19
2 II. Introduction: Dialog 3:08
3 III. Introduction: Papa, ich bin verliebt (Photini, Bill Harris) 8:10
4 IV. Introduction: Mutter ging schlafen (Stavros, Christodulos, Photini) 4:31
5 V. Introduction: Dialog 1:08
6 VI. Introduction: Pallikarenlied (Lange, Joahre, Stavros) 3:33
7 VII. Introduction: Dialog 2:44
8 VIII. Introduction: Finale I (Photini, Nydia, Harris, Perikles, Christodulos, Barley, Doktor, Chorus) 11:42
9 IX. Introduction: Rauber-Marsch 2:42
10 X. Act I: Ensemble (Stavros, Spiro, Phalatis, Koltzida, Tamburis, Chorus) 3:09
11 XI. Act I: Dialog 3:08
12 XII. Act I: Kindchen, sei hubsch brav (Mary-Ann) 7:35

Select Complete Single Disc for
1 XIII. Act I: Dialog 1:05
2 XIV. Act I: Ich diene so gerne den Damen (Mary-Ann, Stavros) 5:31
3 XV. Act I: Dialog 0:34
4 XVI. Act I: Szene (Mary-Ann, Stavros) 1:26
5 XVII. Act I: Dialog 2:35
6 XVIII. Act I: Ensemble (Mary-Ann, Gwendolyne, Doktor, Stavros) 1:07
7 XIV. Act I: Wusstest du, Madchen, wie wohl das tut (Mary-Ann, Stavros) 4:50
8 XX. Act I: Dialog 4:07
9 XXI. Act I: Ensemble (Stavros, Prikles, Rauber, Gendarmen) 1:49
10 XXII. Act I: Dialog 1:20
11 XXIII. Act I: Finale II (Mary-Ann, Photini, Gwendolyne, Harris, Stavros, Spiro, Doktor, Tamburis) 22:49
12 XXIV. Act I: Resignation 4:11
13 XXV. Act II: Dialog 1:41
14 XXVI. Act II: Quintet: Walzer, wer hat dich wohl erdacht? (Mary-Ann, Photini, Gwendolyne, Harris, Doktor) 4:56
15 XXVII. Act II: Dialog 0:45
16 XXVIII. Act II: Jung und Alt (Mary-Ann, Stavros) 5:09
17 XXIX. Act II: Dialog 3:10
18 XXX. Act II: Melodram 2:08
 Chen Reiss Soloist
 Mary Mills Soloist
 Ulf Schirmer Conductor

Das Fürstenkind has always been an excellent insight into Lehár’s oeuvre, with the composer himself regarding this ‘Greek robber’s tale’ as one of his best works.
Although it never became a sensational success, Das Fuerstenkind blurred the generic boundaries between the opera and the operetta much more than Lehár’s other works and includes some of his most inventive melodic ideas.

"... The singers on this recording fill the bill nicely. As the robber Stavros, Matthias Klink sings with a clear, bright tenor. He is joined in duets by American soprano Mary Mills, whose full, rich lyric soprano makes her a fine Mary-Ann. As the daughter and her lover, another soprano-tenor duo, Chen Reiss and ralf Simon sound every bit the young lovers. This work lacks some of the stock comic characters one finds in many operettas; I do not miss them one bit. The orchestral accompaniments are first rate ..."

Richard Sininger - American Record Guide - November/December 2013

                     *****- (Excellent disc)

Gianni Gori - Musica magazine - September 2013

                          Music ***½ (Good/Very Good)              Sound ****

Gerhard Persché - Fono Forum magazine - August 2013

No User Reviews Found.