Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

DA 1201
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Divine Art Logo
DA 1201
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

Sullivan: Haddon Hall

The Classical Shop
release date: December 2007

Originally recorded in 2007


The Prince Consort Orchestra

David Lyle

The Prince Consort Chorus


Pierhouse Studios, Edinburgh

24 Jun 2000


Peter Haigh

Record Label
Divine Art



Total Time - 110:09
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless
An Original Light Opera in Three Acts


  An Original Light Opera in Three Acts  

Select Complete Single Disc for
  Written by Sydney Grundy  
  CD ONE  
  Act 1  

Haddon Hall

1 Introduction (Chorus) Ye stately homes of England 2:43
2 Chorus: To-day, it is festal time 2:13
3 Song (Dorcas) with Chorus: But midst our jubliation - 'Twas a dear little dormouse' 3:22
4 Chorus with Solos (Dorothy, Lady Vernon, Sir George): Hail to the Lord of Haddon 3:24
5 Madrigal (Dorothy, Lady Vernon, Sir George, Chorus): Welcome, I bid ye welcome - When the budding bloom of May 4:14
6 Trio (Dorothy, Lady Vernon, Sir George): Nay, father dear 2:20
7 Duet (Dorothy, Lady Vernon): Mother, dearest mother 3:20
8 Song (Oswald) with Chorus: Ribbons to sell - Come, simples and gentles 3:21
9 Duet (Dorcas, Oswald): The sun's in the sky 2:43
10 Recit (Dorothy, Dorcas, Oswald): My mistress comes 0:55
11 Trio (Dorothy, Dorcas, Oswald): Oh, tell me what is a maid to say 2:51
12 Recit & Song (Dorothy): Why weep and wait? - Red of the rosebud 3:26
13 Entrance of Puritans: Down with Princes 1:14
14 Song (Rupert): I've heard it said 2:40
  Finale Act 1  
15 Scene (Company): The bonny bridegroom cometh 3:56
16 Song (Rupert) and Chorus: When I was but a little lad 1:50
17 Scene (Company): Hail, cousin Rupert 2:11
18 Solo (Dorothy & Company): When, yestereve, I knelt to pray 1:58
19 Ensemble (Company): Father, forgive! 1:30
  Appendix to Act 1  
20 Solo (Manners): The earth is fair 2:20
21 Duet (Dorothy, Manners): Sweetly the morn doth break 2:05
  CD 1 TT: 55:13      
  CD TWO  

Select Complete Single Disc for
  ACT 2; Scene 1  
1 Introduction & Chorus of Puritans: Hoarsely the wind is howling 1:47
2 Song (McCrankie): My name it is McCrankie 2:24
3 Duet (Rupert, McCrankie): There's no one by 3:04
4 Trio (Dorcas, Rupert, McCrankie): Hoity-toity, what's a kiss? 2:08
  Finale Act 2  
5 Quartette (Dorothy, Dorcas, Manners, Oswald): The west wind howls 7:52
6 Storm 3:03
  ACT 2; Scene 2  
7 Recit & Song (Major Domo, Sir George): Silence all! Attend your host! - In days of old 3:02
8 Scene (Company): Eloped! Eloped 1:11
9 Duet (Rupert, McCrankie) and Chorus: We were sheltering all 3:34
10 Scene (Lady Vernon & Company): In vain they will blunder 2:51
  ACT 3  
11 Opening Chorus: Our heads we bow 1:54
12 Song (Lady Vernon) and Chorus: Queen of the garden 4:27
13 Recit (Lady Vernon, Sir George): Alone - alone! 1:11
14 Duet (Lady Vernon, Sir George): Bride of my youth 2:35
15 Scene (Dorcas, Rupert, three Girls) and Chorus: In frill and feather 1:31
16 Ensemble (Oswald & Company): Good General Monk 2:24
17 Song, Chorus & Dance (Dorcas, Rupert, Puritans): We have thought the matter out 2:06
18 Song and Scotch Dance (McCrankie) and Chorus: Hech, mon! Hech, mon! It gars me greet 3:12
  Finale Act 3  
19 Ensemble (Comany): Hark! The cannon! 5:17
  CD Two TT: 56:06      
 David Lyle

Sir Arthur Sullivan wrote his light opera Haddon Hall when he was at the height of his considerable creative powers.  Despite his intention to turn away from writing "lighter" works so that he could concentrate on more serious fare, Sullivan’s love of the good-life forced his return to the rather more lucrative stage of the Savoy Theatre, and the world of comic opera. Sydney Grundy presented him with a libretto based on an actual historical incident, namely the elopement of Dorothy Vernon, with her lover John Manners, from Haddon Hall, her ancestral home. The opera was completed and presented at the Savoy Theatre on 24th September 1892.

The reception to Sullivan’s music (though not the libretto!) was ecstatic. Bernard Shaw thought Haddon Hall to be the very best of the Savoy Operas, and for a while the piece beat even The Mikado in box office receipts.  We hope that, after hearing this new recording, you will agree that Haddon Hall is an unjustly neglected work of great charm, fully worthy of Britain’s most famous composer of the 19th century, Sir Arthur Sullivan.

"The opera comes vividly to life in this excellent recording.. will give much pleasure"     (ROSETTE WINNER)

Penguin Guide to Compact Discs

"most impressive…very professional…...chorus is excellent.. recommended"

FRMS Bulletin

"the whole score is masterly…the soloists and chorus recreate the authentic period style with élan...enjoyable and well-recorded…booklet notes are excellent…..most recommendable"

International Record Review

"HADDON HALL is easily the best of the Prince Consort recordings. All of the roles are at least acceptably cast, the orchestral playing is generally to a high standard, and the chorus shine. This is a set that will give pleasure for years to come. There is much to discover in this score, and I heartily recommend it to those who have yet to discover Sullivan outside of the G&S canon. An unfamiliar opera needs a great recording, and I think this is one............David Lyle coaxes a great sense of drama out of the Consort Orchestra......The chorus sing beautifully.   The two-CD set comes with a generous booklet that includes the complete libretto.  Overall, it’s a most welcome addition to the Sullivan discography."

Marc Shepherd

The Gilbert & Sullivan Discography

"During recent years record collectors have been grateful for the enterprise and imagination of Stephen Sutton’s aptly named Divine Art label, and here is another winner. ..........the Chorus and Orchestra of the Prince Consort has produced an infectious recording of what deserves to be a regularly staged member of the Savoy Opera repertory. With 15 singing and one speaking parts Haddon Hall is no inexpensive work to stage but listening to these CDs is such a delight that it must be possible to convince the legion of G&S quality amateurs to bring it to life. The Sir Arthur Sullivan Society has collaborated with Divine Art in this project and their number is 01388-710308. This is Sullivan at his best.......... we have a wealth of solos, duets and ensembles filled with drama, eloquence, and sheer joie-de-vivre. Not to be missed"

Denby Richards

Musical Opinion - Spring 2001

"[Haddon Hall] undeserved obscurity, as this splendid new recording from the Divine Art amply proves. The score is prime Sullivan; he never wrote a lovelier aria than "Queen of the Garden bloomed a rose."    Haddon flawless.    High praise for the excellent cast, especially the lovely Mary Timmins as Dorothy Vernon, Fiona Main as Dorcas, and Maxwell Smart as the McCrankie. Good choral singing especially, and fine playing by the orchestra. A libretto is included. In an era in which few operas are being recorded at all, much less repertoire rarities, this is a true find, and is highly recommended"

James Canmer

Fanfare - May/June 2001

No User Reviews Found.