Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

DY 0757
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Dynamic Logo
DY 0757
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)
BACH, J.S.: French Suites, BWV 812-817 (Artifoni)

BACH, J.S.: French Suites, BWV 812-817 (Artifoni)

The Classical Shop
release date: March 2013

Originally recorded in 2013


Alessandra Artifoni



Florence, Italy

Record Label




Total Time - 90:58
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: French Suites, BWV 812-817 (Artifoni)




Select Complete Single Disc for

French Suite No. 4 in E flat major, BWV 815

1 I. Allemande 2:57
2 II. Courante 1:42
3 III. Sarabande 2:48
4 IV. Gavotte 1:13
5 V. Air 1:41
6 VI. Menuet 0:50
7 VII. Gigue 2:23

French Suite No. 2 in C minor, BWV 813

8 I. Allemande 3:15
9 II. Courante 1:50
10 III. Sarabande 3:24
11 IV. Air 1:23
12 V. Menuet I 1:40
13 VI. Gigue 2:36

French Suite No. 5 in G major, BWV 816

14 I. Allemande 3:03
15 II. Courante 1:49
16 III. Sarabande 4:16
17 IV. Gavotte 1:08
18 V. Bourree 1:23
19 VI. Loure 2:23
20 VII. Gigue 3:37

Select Complete Single Disc for

French Suite No. 3 in B minor, BWV 814

1 I. Allemande 3:26
2 II. Courante 2:16
3 III. Sarabande 2:54
4 IV. Anglaise 1:27
5 V. Menuet I 3:19
6 VI. Gigue 2:18

French Suite No. 1 in D minor, BWV 812

7 I. Allemande 3:49
8 II. Courante 1:58
9 III. Sarabande 2:47
10 IV. Menuet I-II 2:56
11 V. Gigue 2:56

French Suite No. 6 in E major, BWV 817

12 I. Allemande 3:01
13 II. Courante 1:43
14 III. Sarabande 2:51
15 IV. Gavotte 1:07
16 V. Polonaise 1:19
17 VII. Menuet 1:14
18 VI. Bourree 1:45
19 VIII. Gigue 2:31
 Alessandra Artifoni Soloist

Bach’s production of Suites and Partitas has given us some of the milestones of instrumental music in general, and of the literature of a single instrument in particular. We know of six Cello Suites, three Violin Partitas, four Orchestral Suites and as many as three collections for harpsichord: six English Suites, six French Suites and six Partitas. Of the harpsichord collections, only the Partitas were printed by Bach himself in 1731, as first part of his Klavierübung. Five of Bach’s French Suites - of which only Nos. 4 and 5 are complete - are contained in Anna Magdalena Bach’s first Klavierbüchlein, dated 1722. Several pages of that manuscript were lost, which would explain the absence of the Suite No. 6 BWV 817; another explanation could be that it was composed at a later date. The lack of original autographs, for many of J. S. Bach’s works, is only partly remedied by the precious manuscript copies made by his family and pupils.
Born in Florence in 1967, Alessandra Artifoni began to study the harpsichord at the age of nine. It was at that early age that she became an enthusiast of early music, in particular of J S Bach’s. After studying organ and harpsichord in Italy (Florence, Bologna and Fiesole), she spent ten years in Switzerland, where she furthered her studies at the Schola Cantorum of Basilea while working as an organist. In the same period she also taught organ, harpsichord and basso continuo in France and then Italy, and was active as a concert performer, both as soloist and in chamber and orchestral ensembles, in Europe and Latin America (Ort, L’Homme Armé, Modo Antiquo, Milan’s As. Li. Co., AuserMusici, the Strasbourg National Orchestra, the Opéra du Rhin, the Mulhouse Philharmonic Orchestra, Les Arts Florissants). She has been the guest of Gli Amici della Musica di Roma, Il Cantiere Internazionale di Montepulciano, Les Promenades Musicales du Pays d’Auge, the Festival d’Ambronay, La Sagra Musicale Umbra, and I concerti della Normale di Pisa, and has made several CD and radio recordings, as well as live radio broadcasts..

"... The more I listen to Aritifoni’s French Suites the more I like them... highly recommended."

Jerry Dubins - Fanfare - November/December 2013

"...This thoughtful and well-produced release is a pleasure through and through."

Benjamin Katz - American Record Guide - September/October 2013

                        ***** - (Exceptional Disc)

Stefano Pagliantini - Musica magazine - September 2013

No User Reviews Found.