Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

FG 0512
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Fuga Libera Logo
FG 0512
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)
SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: String Quartets (Complete) (Quatuor Danel)

SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: String Quartets (Complete) (Quatuor Danel)

The Classical Shop
release date: September 2013

Originally recorded in 2013


Quatuor Danel


Quatuor Danel


Record Label
Fuga Libera




Total Time - 385:49
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: String Quartets (Complete) (Quatuor Danel)




Select Complete Single Disc for

String Quartet No. 2 in A major, Op. 68

1 I. Overture: Moderato con moto 8:21
2 II. Recitative and Romance: Adagio 10:29
3 III. Waltz: Allegro 5:33
4 IV. Theme with Variations: Adagio 10:34

String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor, Op. 108

5 I. Allegretto 3:32
6 II. Lento 3:16
7 III. Allegro 5:48

String Quartet No. 5 in B flat major, Op. 92

8 I. Allegretto non troppo 11:14
9 II. Andante 9:40
10 III. Moderato - Allegretto 11:21

Select Complete Single Disc for

String Quartet No. 6 in G major, Op. 101

1 I. Allegretto 6:45
2 II. Moderato con moto 4:58
3 III. Lento 5:15
4 IV. Lento - Allegretto - Andante 7:42

String Quartet No. 3 in F major, Op. 73

5 I. Allegretto 6:45
6 II. Moderato con moto 5:32
7 III. Allegro non troppo 4:13
8 IV. Adagio 5:07
9 V. Moderato 10:28

String Quartet No. 13 in B flat minor, Op. 138


Select Complete Single Disc for

String Quartet No. 14 in F sharp major, Op. 142

1 I. Allegretto 9:01
2 II. Adagio 10:37
3 III. Allegretto - Poco meno mosso - A tempo - Adagio 8:44

String Quartet No. 8 in C minor, Op. 110

4 I. Largo 5:08
5 II. Allegro molto 2:46
6 III. Allegretto 4:27
7 IV. Largo 5:58
8 V. Largo 3:53

String Quartet No. 12 in D flat major, Op. 133

9 I. Moderato 7:17
10 II. Allegro - Adagio - Moderato - Adagio - Moderato - Allegretto 22:07

Select Complete Single Disc for

String Quartet No. 4 in D major, Op. 83

1 I. Allegretto 3:44
2 II. Andantino 6:29
3 III. Allegretto 4:18
4 IV. Allegretto 11:01

String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 122

5 I. Introduction: Andantino 2:34
6 II. Scherzo: Allegretto 2:50
7 III. Recitative: Adagio 1:19
8 IV. Etude: Allegro 1:17
9 V. Humoresque: Allegro 1:05
10 VI. Elegie: Adagio 3:49
11 VII. Finale: Moderato 4:03

String Quartet No. 9 in E flat major, Op. 117

12 I. Moderato con moto 4:43
13 II. Adagio 4:22
14 III. Allegretto 4:13
15 IV. Adagio 3:42
16 V. Allegro 10:26

Select Complete Single Disc for

String Quartet No. 1 in C major, Op. 49

1 I. Moderato 4:54
2 II. Moderato 4:57
3 III. Allegro molto 2:13
4 IV. Allegro 3:19

String Quartet No. 10 in A flat major, Op. 118

5 I. Andante 4:38
6 II. Allegretto furioso 3:56
7 III. Adagio 5:46
8 IV. Allegretto 9:24

String Quartet No. 15 in E flat minor, Op. 144

9 I. Elegy: Adagio 13:42
10 II. Serenade: Adagio 6:01
11 III. Intermezzo: Adagio 1:51
12 IV. Nocturne: Adagio 5:04
13 V. Funeral March: Adagio molto 5:25
14 VI. Epilogue: Adagio - Adagio molto 6:30
 Quatuor Danel Ensemble

The Danel Quartet’s complete Shostakovich recording is the result of a long association with a body of works unique in the history of the twentieth-century string quartet. Right from the very start, the Quartet, now the most active and most prestigious of its kind in Belgium, acquired a close familiarity with the quartets of the Russian composer. It was in the course of many work sessions with members of the Borodin Quartet (Berlinsky, Shebalin and Kopelman) and the Beethoven Quartet (Druzhinin) - the two groups that gave the first performances of these masterpieces in the USSR, as well as with the composer and musicologist Krzysztof Meyer, and also through their many complete performances, that the Danel Quartet forged its own identity, now arrived at full maturity. The box set released today, by continuing the many successes of the Quartet in prestigious international competitions (Evian, London, Florence), sheds a particular light on the special mention "for the finest performance of a quartet by Shostakovich" gained by the young quartet in 1993 at Saint Petersburg, during its success at the International Dimitri Shostakovich Competition, where it won First Prize. This passion and this experience, matured over more than a decade, was magnificently caught in Munich from 2001 to 2005 by the microphones of the Bayerischer Rundfunk, co-producer of the project. The result is now with us, a year before the centenary of the composer’s birth, which is being marked by several complete performances given by the Danel Quartet in Europe and Japan. For this monumental edition, Fuga Libera has prepared some delicacies in addition to the main course! The two main Western specialists of Shostakovich, the Belgian Frans Lemaire, the author of some remarkable studies published by Fayard, and the Briton David Fanning, of Manchester University, were asked to provide entirely new presentations of the works. The production has also benefited from the invaluable support of the composer’s widow, Madame Irina Shostakovich, and, in the person of its director Emmanuel Utwiller, of the ’Dimitri Shostakovich’ Contemporary Music Documentation Centre (’Ple Universitaire Lonard de Vinci’ in Paris), that houses a precious iconographic archive, some of the finest pieces of which are reproduced in the booklet. The Dimitri Shostakovich Centre was also the instigator of the new printed edition of Shostakovich’s quartets, which the Danel Quartet chose for this recording.

No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.