Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

GS 1207
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Glossa Logo
GS 1207
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

CORELLI, A.: Trio Sonatas, Op. 4 (Ensemble Aurora)

The Classical Shop
release date: February 2013

Originally recorded in 2013


Gatti, Enrico

Enrico Gatti


Ensemble Aurora


Teatro Cucinelli, Solomeo, Italy

Record Label




Total Time - 85:33
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

CORELLI, A.: Trio Sonatas, Op. 4 (Ensemble Aurora)




Select Complete Single Disc for

Sonata a 3 in E major, Op. 4, No. 6

1 I. Preludio: Adagio 3:08
2 II. Allemanda: Allegro 1:38
3 III. Giga: Allegro 1:58

Sonata a 3 in A major, Op. 4, No. 12

4 I. Preludio: Largo 3:20
5 II. Allemanda: Presto 1:52
6 III. Giga: Allegro 1:17

Sonata a 3 in D major, Op. 4, No. 4

7 I. Preludio: Grave 2:23
8 II. Corrente: Allegro 1:34
9 III. Adagio 2:05
10 IV. Giga: Allegro 2:06

Sonata a 3 in A minor, Op. 4, No. 5

11 I. Preludio: Adagio 2:11
12 II. Allemanda 1:47
13 III. Corrente: Vivace 1:28
14 IV. Gavotta: Allegro 2:22

Sonata a 3 in C major, Op. 4, No. 1

15 I. Preludio: Largo 1:41
16 II. Corrente: Allegro 1:42
17 III. Adagio 1:49
18 IV. Allemanda: Presto 1:43

Sonata a 3 in G major, Op. 4, No. 10

19 I. Preludio: Adagio - Allegro 2:00
20 II. Grave 2:05
21 III. Tempo di gavotta: Presto 1:54

Select Complete Single Disc for

Sonata a 3 in A major, Op. 4, No. 3

1 I. Preludio: Largo 4:10
2 II. Corrente: Allegro 1:42
3 III. Sarabande 1:58
4 IV. Tempo di gavotta: Allegro 1:39

Sonata a 3 in D minor, Op. 4, No. 8

5 I. Preludio: Grave 1:52
6 II. Allemanda: Vivace 1:33
7 III. Sarabanda: Allegro 0:50

Sonata a 3 in F major, Op. 4, No. 7

8 I. Preludio: Grave 1:47
9 II. Corrente: Vivace 1:34
10 III. Grave - 0:44
11 III. Sarabanda: Vivace 1:29
12 IV. Giga 1:44

Sonata a 3 in B flat major, Op. 4, No. 9

13 I. Preludio: Largo 2:55
14 II. Corrente: Allegro 1:48
15 III. Grave 1:30
16 IV. Tempo di gavotta: Allegro 2:20

Sonata a 3 in G minor, Op. 4, No. 2

17 I. Preludio: Grave 2:07
18 II. Allemanda: Allegro 1:30
19 III. Grave 0:40
20 IV. Corrente: Vivace 2:03

Sonata a 3 in C minor, Op. 4, No. 11

21 I. Preludio: Largo 2:53
22 II. Corrente: Allegro 2:33
23 III. Allemanda: Allegro 2:09
 Enrico Gatti Conductor
 Gatti, Enrico

The appointment in 1689 of Pietro Ottoboni as Cardinal of San Lorenzo in Damaso marked the beginning of one of the most splendid epochs of patronage of the arts in Rome. A passionate lover of music, Ottoboni gave his protection to numerous musicians: Handel, Pasquini, Scarlatti and Caldara all at some point worked at the cardinal’s court.
A few months after his election, Ottoboni took into his service the famous violinist Arcangelo Corelli, who was employed not only as first violin and leader for the instrumental music, but had complete control also over the sumptuous musical events.
It was his Op. 4, the final collection of trio sonatas, that Corelli presented in 1694 as the expression of gratitude for the protection he had received from Cardinal Ottoboni. The set of twelve sonatas constituted the culmination of a symmetrical production that alternated collections of church (Op. 1 and 3) and chamber sonatas (Op. 2 and 4) and helped to establish Corelli’s music as models in the definition of these two genres.
In a recording made in June 2012 in Solomeo, in the region of Umbria, Enrico Gatti infuses these works with his special elegance and lightness, with his Ensemble Aurora creating once more a reading of the highest order, which any admirer of the best of Baroque Italian music will wish to return to, again and again.
No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.