Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

KK 0111
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
K and K Logo
KK 0111
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

HANDEL, G.F.: Jephtha [Oratorio] (Blaise, Müller, Allsopp, Hulett, Bailey, Maulbronn Chamber Choir, Il Capriccio, Budday)

The Classical Shop
release date: December 2013

Recorded in 24 Bit / 96Khz
album available as a Studio Master
Originally recorded in 2013


Jürgen Budday


Kirsten Blaise


Annelie Sophie Müller


Maulbronn Chamber Choir


Capriccio, Il



Live recording, Unesco World Heritage Site, Maulbronn Monastery, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany


Record Label
K and K




Total Time - 166:37
background image
onquestion marklosslessquestion markStudio Fileoffquestion mark 
*if you purchase a higher level format, we include the lower formats free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless or better



Select Complete Single Disc for

Jephtha, HWV 70

1 Overture 03:58
2 Act I Scene 1: Accompanied: It must be so (Zebul) 01:34
3 Act I Scene 1: Air: Pour forth no more unheeded prayr's (Zebul) 03:32
4 Act I Scene 1: No more to Ammon's god and king (Chorus) 03:04
5 Act I Scene 2: Recitative: But Jephtha comes (Zebul, Jephtha) 04:22
6 Act I Scene 2: Air: Virtue my soul shall still embrace (Jephtha) 04:22
7 Act I Scene 2: Recitative: Twill be a painful separation (Storge) 05:57
8 Act I Scene 3: Recitative: Happy this embassy, my charming Iphis (Hamor) 00:55
9 Act I Scene 3: Air: Dull delay, in piercing anguish (Hamor) 03:10
10 Act I Scene 3: Recitative: Ill suits the voice of love (Iphis) 04:40
11 Act I Scene 3: Recitative: I go, my soul (Hamor) 07:45
12 Act I Scene 4: Recitative: What mean these doubtful fancies (Jephtha) 02:25
13 Act I Scene 4: O God, behold our sore distress (Chorus) 04:17
14 Act I Scene 7: Recitative: Such, Jephtha, was the haughty king's reply (Zebul, Jephtha) 00:34
15 Act I Scene 7: When his loud voice in thunder spoke (Chorus) 04:55
16 Act II Scene 1: Recitative: Glad tidings of great joy (Hamor) 01:37
17 Act II Scene 1: Cherub and Seraphim, unbodied forms (Chorus) 03:27
18 Act II Scene 1: Air: Up the dreadful steep ascending (Hamor) 04:44
19 Act II Scene 1: Recitative: Tis well. Haste, haste, ye maidens (Iphis) 05:36
20 Act II Scene 2: Recitative: Heav'n smiles once more (Jephtha) 00:41
21 Act II Scene 2: Air: His mighty arm (Jephtha) 05:40
22 Act II Scene 2: In glory high (Chorus) 02:58

Select Complete Single Disc for
1 Act II Scene 3: Symphony 01:32
2 Act II Scene 3: Air: Welcome, as the cheerful light (Iphis) - Welcome thou, whose deeds conspire (Chorus) 04:00
3 Act II Scene 3: Air: Open thy marble jaws, O tomb (Jephtha) 06:21
4 Act II Scene 3: Recitative: Why is my brother thus afflicted? (Zebul, Jephtha) 01:31
5 Act II Scene 3: Accompanied: First perish thou (Storge) - Air: Let other creatures (Storge) 02:42
6 Act II Scene 3: Recitative: If such thy cruel purpose (Hamor) 02:04
7 Act II Scene 3: Quartet: O spare your daughter! (Storge, Hamor, Jephtha, Zebul) 03:58
8 Act II Scene 4: Recitative: Such news flies swift (Iphis) 01:38
9 Act II Scene 4: Air: Happy they! This vital breath (Iphis) 04:41
10 Act II Scene 4: Accompanied: Deeper, and deeper (Jephtha) 04:41
11 Act II Scene 4: How dark, O Lord, are thy decrees! (Chorus) 09:18
12 Act III Scene 1: Air: Hide thou thy hated beams (Jephtha) 02:51
13 Act III Scene 1: Air: Waft her, angels (Jephtha) 04:17
14 Act III Scene 1: Accompanied: Ye sacred priests (Iphis) 06:48
15 Act III Scene 1: Doubtful fear and reverend awe (Chorus) 04:11
16 Act III Scene 1: Symphony 02:00
17 Act III Scene 1: Recitative: Rise, Jephtha (Angel) 06:11
18 Act III Scene 1: Arioso: For ever blessed be (Jephtha) 01:39
19 Act III Scene 1: Theme sublime (Chorus) 03:31
20 Act III Scene 2: Recitative: Let me congratulate (Zebul) 02:05
21 Act III Scene 2: Recitative: O let me fold thee (Storge) 02:04
22 Act III Scene 2: Recitative: With transport, Iphis (Hamor) 00:49
23 Act III Scene 2: Duet: All that is in Hamor mine (Iphis, Harmor) - Quintet: Joy's triumphant crown thy days (Iphis, Hamor, Storge, Jephtha, Zebul, Chorus) - Amen 07:32
 Kirsten Blaise Soloist
 Annelie Sophie Müller Soloist
 Jürgen Budday Conductor

This recording is part of a cycle of oratorios and masses, performed at Maulbronn monastery over the past years. The series combines authentically performed baroque oratorios with the optimal acoustics and atmosphere of this unique monastic church. This ideal location demands the transparency of playing and the interpretive unveiling of the rhetoric intimations of the composition, which is especially aided by the historically informed performance. The music is exclusively performed on reconstructed historical instruments, tuned in the pitch, which was customary during the composer’s lifetime (a = 415 Hz)..

No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.