Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

NI 5709
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Nimbus Logo
NI 5709
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

Handel: Messiah

The Classical Shop
release date: January 2008

Originally recorded in 2008


Saint Michaels Singers, English Symphony Orchestra

William Boughton

Gavin Carr


William Towers


Alison Smart


Michael Hart-Davies


Record Label


Orchestral & Concertos

Total Time - 143:22
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless



Select Complete Single Disc for
  Disc 1  


1 Sinfonia, Overture, Grave 1:41
2 Sinfonia, Allegro moderato 2:09
3 Recitative, Comfort ye my people 3:18
4 Aria, tenor, Ev'ry valley shall be exalted 3:28
5 Chorus, And the glory of the Lord 2:35
6 Recitative, Thus saith the Lord 1:22
7 Aria, counter-tenor, but who may abide the day of his coming? 4:30
8 Chorus, And he shall purify 2:48
9 Recitative, Behold, a virgin shall concieve 0:27
10 Aria, counter-tenor, O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion 4:06
11 Chorus, Oh that tellest good tidings to Zion 1:37
12 Recitative, For behold, darkness shall cover the earth 1:54
13 Aria, baritone, The people that walked in darkness 3:37
14 Chorus, For unto us a child is born 4:26
15 Pifa, Pastoral Symphony 1:05
16 Recitative, There were shepherds abiding in the field 0:13
17 Recitative, And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them 0:21
18 Recitative, And the angel said unto them 0:38
19 Recitative, And suddenly there was with the angel 0:17
20 Chorus, Glory to God 1:54
21 Aria, soprano, Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion 5:01
22 Recitative, Then shall the eyes of the blind 0:33
23 Aria, counter-tenor, soprano, He shall feed his flock 5:18
24 Chorus, His yoke is easy, and his burthen is light 2:42
25 Chorus, Behold the Lamb of God 3:25
26 Aria, counter-tenor, He was despised 10:40
  Disc 2  

Select Complete Single Disc for
1 Chorus, Surely he hath borne our griefs 1:52
2 Chorus, And with his stripes we are healed 1:47
3 Chorus, And we like sheep have gone astray 3:58
4 Recitative, All they that see him laugh him to scorn 0:45
5 Chorus, He trusted in God 2:15
6 Recitative, Thy rebuke hath broken his heart 2:02
7 Aria, soprano, Behold and see if there be any sorrow 1:23
8 Recitative, He was cut off out of the land of the living 0:23
9 Aria, tenor, But thou didst not leave his soul in hell 2:19
10 Chorus, Lift up your heads, O ye gates 3:04
11 Recitative, Unto which of the angels said he at any time 0:20
12 Chorus, Let all the angels of God worship him 1:25
13 Aria, counter-tenor, Thou art gone up on high 3:16
14 Chorus, The Lord gave the word 1:08
15 Aria, soprano, How beautiful are the feet 2:03
16 Chorus, Their sound is gone out 1:26
17 Aria, baritone, Why do the nations so furiously rage together? 3:00
18 Chorus, Let us break their bondns asunder 1:55
19 Recitative, He that dwelleth in heaven 0:16
20 Aria, tenor, Thou shalt break them 2:14
21 Chorus, Hallelujah 3:47
22 Aria, soprano, I know that my redeemer liveth 6:02
23 Chorus, Since by man came death 1:53
24 Recitative, Behold, I tell you a mystery 0:43
25 Aria, baritone, The trumpet shall sound 9:06
26 Recitative, Then shall be brought to pass 0:19
27 Duet, counter-tenor, tenor, O death, where is thy sting? 0:55
28 Chorus, But thanks be to God 2:02
29 Aria, soprano, If God be for us 4:41
30 Chorus, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain 3:23
31 Chorus, Amen 3:35
 Alison Smart soprano
 William Towers counter-tenor
 Michael Hart-Davies tenor
 Gavin Carr baritone
 William Boughton
No Notes Found.
No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.