Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

NI 6225
Star    1 Ratings
Log in to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Nimbus Logo
NI 6225

French Organ Music from the Golden Age - Volume 2

The Classical Shop
release date: April 2013

Originally recorded in 2012


David Ponsford

- (organ)

Record Label



Total Time - 66:53
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Customers who bought this album, also bought...
David Ponsford - French Organ Music from the Golden Age, Volume 3
French Organ Music from the Golden Age, Volume 4
French Organ Music, Volume 1
Strauss, R: Josephslegende
SCHEIDEMANN: Organ Works, Vol. 5
Ben-Haim: Chamber Works
Casella: Orchestral Works, Volume 3
PRAETORIUS, H.: Organ Music (Complete Magnificat and other Works for Organ) (Flamme)
Schubert String Quartets

Scroll Scroll

background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless
Select Complete Single Disc for



Messe à l'usage ordinaire des paroisses, pour les fêtes solemnelles (1690)

1 Plein chant du premier Kyrie, en Taille 1:15
2 Fugue sur les jeux d'anches 2:09
3 Recit de Chromhorne: 3e Couplet 2:33
4 Dialogue sur la Trompette et le Chromhorne: 4e Couplet 2:09
5 Plein chant: 5e et dernier Couplet 1:09
6 Plein jeu: Et in Terra pax 1:17
7 Pettite fugue sur le Chromhorne: 2e Couplet du Gloria 1:00
8 Duo sur les Tierces: 3e Couplet 2:08
9 Dialogue sur les Trompettes, Clairon et Tierces du G. C. 2:51
  Et le bourdon avec le larigot du positif: 4e Couplet  
10 Trio a 2 dessus de Chromorne et la basses de Tierce: 5e Couplet 2:16
11 Tierce en Taille: 6e Couplet 3:54
12 Dialogue sur la Voix humaine: 7e Couplet 3:12
13 Dialogue en trio du Cornet et de la Tierce: 8e Couplet 3:02
14 Dialogue sur les Grand jeux: 9e et dernier Couplet 1:48

OFFERTOIRE sur les grands jeux

16 Plein chant du premier Sanctus en Canon 0:56
17 Recit de Cornet: 2e Couplet 1:25
18 BENEDICTUS: Chromhorne en Taille 3:36
19 Plein chant de l'Agnus dei en Basse et en Taille alternativement 1:55
20 Dialogue sur les Grands jeux: 3e Couplet de l'Agnus 2:38



Messe pour plusieurs instruments au lieu des orgues (1674)

  Transcribed for organ by David Ponsford - first recording  
22 Premier Kyrie tous les instruments 1:28
23 3e Kyrie pour les hautbois 1:09
24 Cinquieme Kyrie pour les violons du petit choeur 0:55
25 7e Kyrie 1:14
26 9e Kyrie pour tous les instruments 1:52
27 Et in terra: pour tous les instruments 1:19
28 Benedicimus te pour les hautbois 0:28
29 Glorificamus te pour les viollons 0:49
30 Domine Deus pour les flutes douces 0:53
31 Domine deus agnus dei pour tous les instruments a vent 0:48
32 Qui tollis pour tous les instruments: viollons, hautbois et flutes 1:18
33 Quoniam pour le cromorne 1:09
34 Tu solus altissimus pour un dessus de hautbois et un cromhorne 1:16
35 In gloria pour tous les instruments 1:17

The organ of La Flèche offers the organist the rare experience of being able to perform the French repertoire of the ‘Grand Siècle’ on a beautiful musical instrument situated in an architectural surrounding perfectly suited to it.

"... alongside Ponsford’s wonderful precise and clear playing, the recording (by Raymond Fenton) is both vivid and full of presence... a valuable new and worthwhile addition to the repertoire of seventeenth-century French organ music; an area of repertoire which this disc and its predecessor has genuinely made immediately accessible to a whole new audience through this splendid playing."

Marc Rochester - International Record Review - December 2013

"... The combination of instrument and the artist quicken high expectations. David Ponsford, much-Respected on early keyboard music, Has just published a definitive study on French Baroque organ music, and Brings to the directory has winning combination of flair and rigor . the instrument is well choosen:. Sonorities icts are well modereated and authoritative, and Ponsford coaxes unfrces and persuasive readings from it Phrasing and ornamentation are supple, and he usic Gives the ample space to breathe without slackening the rhythmic spring ... " ****

Magnus Williamson - Choir & Organ magazine - November / December 2013

"These two volumes from Nimbus Alliance, NI 6213 and NI 6225 belong very much together, and with excellent recordings and performances I can’t recommend them too highly. The historic organ sound is perhaps an acquired taste if you are used to the more woolly and generous tones of later instruments, but if you really like your Couperin then you know in your heart of hearts that this is where his music really belongs. Once you’ve heard these I suspect you will soon be hooked, and after that there’s no turning back." 
Dominy Clements -

D Glyn-Jones