Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

SG 0107
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
SDG Logo
SG 0107
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 24 (Gardiner) - BWV 12, 103, 108, 117, 146, 166

The Classical Shop
release date: October 2013

Originally recorded in 2000


John Eliot Gardiner


James Gilchrist


William Towers


Robin Tyson


Brigitte Geller


Monteverdi Choir


English Baroque Soloists


Record Label




Total Time - 127:57
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 24 (Gardiner) - BWV 12, 103, 108, 117, 146, 166




Select Complete Single Disc for

Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen, BWV 12

1 Sinfonia 02:19
2 Weinen, Klagen (Chorus) 07:34
3 Recitative: Wir mussen durch viel Trubsal (Alto) 00:48
4 Aria: Kreuz und Krone sigs verbunden (Alto) 05:40
5 Aria: Ich folge Christo nach (Bass) 01:45
6 Aria and Chorale: Sei getreu, alle Pein (Tenor) 03:37
7 Chorale: Was Gott tut 00:53
 Brigitte Geller Soloist
 William Towers Soloist

Ihr werdet weinen und heulen, BWV 103

8 Chorale and Aria; Ihr werdet weinen und heulen (Bass) 05:23
9 Recitative: Wer sollte nicht in Klagen untergehn (Tenor) 00:33
10 Aria: Kein Arzt ist ausser dir zu finden (Alto) 04:37
11 Recitative: Du wirst mich nach der Angst (Alto) 00:34
12 Aria: Erholet euch, betrubte Sinnen (Tenor) 02:48
13 Chorale: Ich hab dich einen Augenblick 01:11
 Brigitte Geller Soloist
 William Towers Soloist

Wir mussen durch viel Trubsal, BWV 146

14 Sinfonia 07:32
15 Chorale: Wir mussen durch viel Trubsal 07:45
16 Aria: Ich will nach dem Himmel zu (Alto) 08:59
17 Recitative: Ach! wer doch schon im Himmel war! (Soprano) 01:31
18 Aria: Ich sae meine Zahren (Soprano) 05:12
19 Recitative: Ich bin bereit (Tenor) 01:09
20 Aria Duet: Wie will ich mich freuen (Tenor, Bass) 05:24
21 Chorale: Denn wer selig dahin fahret 01:17
 Brigitte Geller Soloist
 William Towers Soloist

Select Complete Single Disc for

Wo gehest du hin?, BWV 166

1 Aria: Wo gehest du hin? (Bass) 01:59
2 Aria: Ich will an den Himmel denken (Tenor) 07:36
3 Chorale: Ich bitte dich, Herr Jesu Christ (Soprano) 02:38
4 Recitative: Gleichwie die Regenwasser bald verfliessen (Bass) 00:46
5 Aria: Man nehme sich in Acht (Alto) 02:55
6 ChoraleL Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende! 01:13
 Robin Tyson Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Es ist euch gut, dass ich hingehe, BWV 108

7 Aria: Es ist euch gut, dass ich hingehe (Bass) 03:48
8 Aria: Mich kann kein Zweifel storen (Tenor) 03:05
9 Recitative: Dein Gesit wird mich also regieren (Tenor) 00:32
10 Chorale: Wenn aber jener, der Geist der Wahrheit 02:07
11 Aira: Was mein Herz von dir begehrt (Alto) 03:23
12 Chorale: Dein Geist, den Gott vom Himmel gibt 00:52
 Robin Tyson Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Sei Lob und Ehr dem hochsten Gut, BWV 117

13 Chorale: Sei Lob und Ehr dem hochsten Gut 03:29
14 Recitative: Es danken dir die Himmelsheer (Bass) 00:56
15 Aria: Was unser Gott geschaffen hat (Tenor) 02:33
16 Chorale: Ich rief dem Herrn in meiner Not 00:54
17 Recitative: Der Herr ist noch und nimmer nicht (Alto) 01:20
18 Aria: Wenn Trost und Hulf ermangeln muss (Bass) 04:14
19 Aria: Ich will dich all mein Leben lang 02:49
20 Recitative: Ihr, die ihr CHristi Namen nennt (Tenor) 00:42
21 Chorale: So kommet vor sein Angesicht 03:35
 Robin Tyson Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist
 John Eliot Gardiner Conductor

Volume 24 brings live recordings from the Schlosskirche in Altenburg (featuring the famous Trost organ that Bach himself was invited to ’test’ when it was newly built) and from St Mary’s in Warwick. 

The three cantatas are concerned with the sorrow surrounding Jesus’ farewell to his followers, the trials that await them in his absence and their joyful thoughts of seeing him again. The cantatas for Jubilate cover a wide gamut of styles and moods and tease new meanings out of the Gospel texts. From the starkness and searing pathos of BWV 12 Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen to the astonishing superimposition of opposing moods in BWV 103 Ihr werdet weinen und heulen, and culminating in a searing performance of BWV 146 Wir müssen durch viel Trübsal, based on the famous D minor keyboard concerto, this release provides another example of glorious singing and playing - the vocal soloists, the Monteverdi Choir, the English Baroque Soloists and Sir John Eliot Gardiner all at their very best.

No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.