Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

SG 0113
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
SDG Logo
SG 0113

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 14 (Gardiner) - BWV 40, 91, 110, 121

The Classical Shop
release date: October 2013

Originally recorded in 2000


John Eliot Gardiner


Katherine Fuge


Joanne Lunn


Monteverdi Choir


English Baroque Soloists


Record Label




Total Time - 70:41
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 14 (Gardiner) - BWV 40, 91, 110, 121

Select Complete Single Disc for



Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ, BWV 91

1 Chorale: Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ (Chorus) 02:46
2 Recitative and Chorale: Der Glanz der hochsten Herrlichkeit (Soprano) 01:54
3 Aria; Gott, dem der Erden Kreis zu klein (Tenor) 02:26
4 Recitative: O Christenheit! (Bass) 01:16
5 Aria Duet: Die Armut, so Gott auf sich nimmt (Soprano, Alto) 06:50
6 Chorale: Das hat er alles uns getan 00:48

Christum wir sollen loben schon, BWV 121

7 Chorale: Christum wir sollen loben schon (Chorus) 02:37
8 Aria: O du von Gott erhohte Kreatur (Tenor) 04:36
9 Recitative: Der Gnade unermesslich's Wesen (Alto) 01:11
10 Aria: Johannis fredenvolles Springen (Bass) 07:37
11 Recitative: Doch wie erblickt es dich in deiner Krippe? (Soprano) 00:55
12 Chorale: Lob, Ehr und Dank sei dir gesagt 01:05

Darzu ist erschienen der Sohn Gottes, BWV 40

13 Chorale: Dazu ist erschienen der Sohn Gottes 03:59
14 Recitative: Das Wort ward Fleisch und wohnet in der Welt (Tenor) 01:21
15 Chorale: Die Sund macht Leid 00:47
16 Aria: hollische Schlange (Bass) 01:54
17 Recitative: Die Schlange, so im Paradies (Alto) 01:09
18 Chorale; Schuttle deinen Kopf und sprich 00:48
19 Aria: Christenkinder, freueteuch! (Tenor) 03:26
20 Chorale: Jesu, nimm dich deiner Glieder 01:03

Unser Mund sei voll Lachens, BWV 110

21 Chorale: Unser Mund sei voll Lachens 06:10
22 Aria: Ihr Gedanken und ihr Sinnen (Tenor) 03:59
23 Recitative: Dir, Herr, ist niemand gleich (Bass) 00:31
24 Aria: Ach Herr, was ist ein Menschenkind (Alto) 03:21
25 Aria Duet: Ehre sei Gott in der Hohe (Soprano, Tenor) 03:43
26 Aria: Wacht auf, ihr Adern und ihr Glieder (Bass) 03:34
27 Chorale: Halleluja! Halleluja! Gelobt sei Gott 00:55
 Katherine Fuge Soloist
 Joanne Lunn Soloist
 John Eliot Gardiner Conductor

This special single-album release contains four glorious Christmas cantatas, and includes the festive and brilliant BWV 110 Unser Mund sei voll Lachens, which has irresistible swagger, innate elegance and lightness of touch. Its opening movement is identical to Bach’s fourth Orchestral Suite, BWV 1069, but the piece sounds new-minted, alive with unexpected sonorities and a marvellous rendition of laughter-in-music. Bach’s overall design for BWV 121 Christum wir sollen loben is to mirror the change from darkness to light and to show how the moment when Christians celebrate the coming of God’s light into the world coincides with the turning of the sun at the winter solstice. And BWV 91 Gelobet seist du, Jesu Christ glows with that special sense of expectation that is the hallmark of Bach in Christmas mode.

"This splendidly varied selection constitutes some of the last hurrahs of the Pilgrimage ... another fine addition in to this refreshingly varied and unpredictable series."  

Gramophone magazine

No User Reviews Found.