Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

SG 0124
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
SDG Logo
SG 0124
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 7 (Gardiner) - BWV 17, 19, 25, 50, 78, 130, 149

The Classical Shop
release date: October 2013

Originally recorded in 2000


English Baroque Soloists


John Eliot Gardiner


James Gilchrist


Malin Hartelius


Robin Tyson


Richard Wyn Roberts


Monteverdi Choir


Record Label




Total Time - 114:40
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 7 (Gardiner) - BWV 17, 19, 25, 50, 78, 130, 149




Select Complete Single Disc for

Es ist nicht Gesundes an meinem Leibe, BWV 25

1 Es ist nichts Gesundes an meinem Leibe (Chorus) 06:38
2 Recitative: Die ganze Welt ist nur ein Hospital (Tenor) 01:36
3 Aria: Ach, wo hol ich Armer Rat? (Bass) 04:13
4 Recitative: O Jesu, lieber Meister (Soprano) 01:09
5 Aria: Offne meinen schlechten Liedern (Soprano) 02:57
6 Chorale: Ich will alle meine Tage (Chorus) 01:09
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Jesu, der du meine Seele, BWV 78

7 Jesu, der du meine Seele (Chorus) 06:30
8 Aria: Wir eilen mit schwachen, doch emsigen Schritten (Soprano, Alto) 04:20
9 Recitative: Ach! ich bin ein Kind der Sunden (Tenor) 02:09
10 Aria: Das Blut, so meine Schuld durchstreicht (Tenor) 03:36
11 Recitative: Die Wunden, Nagel, Kron und Grab (Bass) 02:08
12 Aria: Nun du wirst mein Gewissen stillen (Bass) 03:08
13 Chorale: Herr, ich glaube, hilf mir Schwachem (Chorus) 01:15
 Robin Tyson Soloist

Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich, BWV 17

14 Part I: Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich (Chorus) 04:26
15 Part I: Recitative: Es muss die ganze Welt ein stummer Zeuge werden (Alto) 01:01
16 Part I: Aria: Herr, deine Gute reicht, so weit der Himmel ist (Soprano) 03:08
17 Part II: Recitative: Einer aber unter ihnen (Tenor) 00:42
18 Part II: Aria: Welch Ubermass der Gute (Tenor) 03:21
19 Part II: Recitative: Sieh meinen Willen an (Bass) 01:13
20 Part II: Chorale: Wie sich ein Vater erbarmet (Chorus) 02:33
 Robin Tyson Soloist

Select Complete Single Disc for

Nun ist das Heil und die Kraft, BWV 50

 Richard Wyn Roberts Soloist

Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir, BWV 130

2 Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir (Chorus) 02:58
3 Recitative: Ihr heller Glanz und hohe Weisheit zeigt (Alto) 00:50
4 Aria: Der alte Drache brennt vor Neid (Bass) 04:23
5 Recitative: Wohl aber uns, dass Tag und Nacht (Soprano, Tenor) 01:19
6 Aria: Lass, o Furst der Cherubinen (Tenor) 04:37
7 Chorale: Darum wir billig loben dich (Chorus) 01:22
 Richard Wyn Roberts Soloist

Es erhub sich ein Streit, BWV 19

8 Es erhub sich ein Streit (Chorus) 03:50
9 Recitative: Gottlob! der Drache liegt (Bass) 00:51
10 Aria: Gott schickt uns Mahanaim zu (Soprano) 04:37
11 Recitative: Was ist der schnode Mensch, das Erdenkind? (Tenor) 00:51
12 Aria with Chorale: Bleibt, ihr Engel, bleibt bei mir! (Tenor) 08:03
13 Recitative: Lasst uns das Angesicht (Soprano) 00:36
14 Chorale: Lass dein' Engel mit mir fahren (Chorus) 01:35
 Richard Wyn Roberts Soloist

Man singet mit Freuden vom Sieg, BWV 149

15 Man singet mit Freuden vom Sieg (Chorus) 03:48
16 Aria: Kraft und Starke sei gesungen (Bass) 02:41
17 Recitative: Ich furchte mich vor tausend Feinden nicht (Alto) 00:44
18 Aria: Gottes Engel weichen nie (Soprano) 05:06
19 Recitative: Ich danke dir, mein lieber Gott, dafur (Tenor) 00:35
20 Aria: Seid wachsam, ihr heiligen Wachter (Alto, Tenor) 03:30
21 Chorale: Ach Herr, lass dein lieb Engelein (Chorus) 01:57
 Richard Wyn Roberts Soloist
 Malin Hartelius Soloist
 John Eliot Gardiner Conductor

The three cantatas for the 14th Sunday after Trinity are all based on the Gospel reading of the day, the story of Jesus’ healing of ten lepers. Standing as prime examples of the humanism of Bach’s basic approach and the audacity of his musical response, they include BWV 78 Jesu, der du meine Seele, with its white-hot inspiration maintained throughout. It opens with an immense choral lament of a scale, intensity and expressive power that match the preludes of the two surviving Passions. The highlight of BWV 17 Wer Dank opfert, der preiset mich, following its exhilarating and florid opening choral fugue and susequent arias, is the extended final chorale, delicate and poignant. The Feast of St Michael and All Angels was marked by Bach by a profusion of dazzling movements, including the breathtaking BWV 50 Nun ist das Heil und die Kraft. In BWV 130 Herr Gott, dich loben alle wir God is praised for creating the guardian angels to protect the believer, and in BWV 19 Es erhub sich ein Streit Bach uses his brass instruments to represent the apocalyptic encounters in heaven between St Michael with all his angels on one side and the devil on the other.

No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.