Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

SG 0128
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
SDG Logo
SG 0128
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 22 (Gardiner) - BWV 4, 6, 31, 134, 145

The Classical Shop
release date: October 2013

Originally recorded in 2000


English Baroque Soloists


John Eliot Gardiner


Texas All-State Women's Choir


James Gilchrist


Daniel Taylor


Angharad Gruffydd Jones


Gillian Keith


Monteverdi Choir


Record Label




Total Time - 120:24
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 22 (Gardiner) - BWV 4, 6, 31, 134, 145




Select Complete Single Disc for

Christ lag in Todes Banden, BWV 4

1 Sinfonia 01:25
2 Versus I: Christ lag in Todesbanden (Chorus) 03:59
3 Versus II: Den Tod niemand zwingen kunnt (Soprano Chorus, Alto Chorus) 05:33
4 Versus III: Jesus Christus, Gottes Sohn (Tenor Chorus) 01:45
5 Versus IV: Es war ein wunderlicher Krieg (Chorus) 01:48
6 Versus V: Hier ist das rechte Osterlamm (Bass Chorus) 04:23
7 Versus VI: So feiern wir das hohe Fest (Soprano Chorus, Tenor Chorus) 01:38
8 Versus VII: Chorale - Wir essen und leben wohl 01:14
 Texas All-State Women's Choir Choir

Der Himmel lacht, die Erde jubilieret, BWV 31

9 Sonata 02:23
10 Der Himmel lacht! Die Erde jubilieret (Chorus) 03:23
11 Recitative: Erwunschter Tag! Sei, Seele, wieder froh! (Bass) 01:52
12 Aria: Furst des Lebens, starker Streiter (Bass) 02:20
13 Recitative: So stehe dann, du gottergebne Seele (Tenor) 01:10
14 Aria: Adam muss in uns verwesen (Tenor) 01:45
15 Recitative: Weil dann das Haupt sein Glied (Soprano) 00:44
16 Aria and Chorale: Letzte Stunde, brich herein (Soprano, Chorus) 03:51
17 Chorale: So fahr ich hin zu Jesu Christ (Chorus) 00:58
 Gillian Keith Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Erfreut euch, ihr Herzen, BWV 66

18 Erfreut euch, ihr Herzen (Chorus) 08:54
19 Recitative: Es bricht das Grab und damit unsre Not (Bass) 00:31
20 Aria: Lasset dem Hochsten ein Danklied erschallen (Bass) 06:02
21 Recitative and Aria: Bei Jesu Leben freudig sein (Tenor, Alto) 04:06
22 Aria: Ich furchte zwar des Grabes Finsternissen (Alto, Tenor) 07:46
23 Chorale: Halleluja! Halleluja! Halleluja! (Chorus) 00:45
 Daniel Taylor Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Select Complete Single Disc for

Bleib bei uns, denn es will Abend werden, BWV 6

1 Bleib bei uns, denn es will Abend werden (Chorus) 05:55
2 Aria: Hochgelobter Gottessohn (Alto) 03:44
3 Chorale: Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ (Chorus) 03:55
4 Recitative: Es hat die Dunkelheit (Bass) 00:43
5 Aria: Jesu, lass uns auf dich sehen (Tenor) 04:20
6 Chorale: Beweis dein Macht, Herr Jesu Christ (Chorus) 00:39
 Daniel Taylor Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Ein Herz, das seinen Jesum lebend weiss, BWV 134

7 Recitative: Ein Herz, das seinen Jesum lebend weiss (Tenor, Alto) 00:34
8 Aria: Auf, glaubige, singet die lieblich Lieder (Tenor) 05:25
9 Recitative: Wohl dir, Gott hat an dich gedacht (Tenor, Alto) 02:19
10 Aria: Wir danken und preisen dein brunstiges Lieben (Alto, Tenor) 07:06
11 Recitative: Doch wurke selbst den Dank in unserm Munde (Tenor, Alto) 01:48
12 Erschallet, ihr Himmel, erfreue dich, Erch (Chorus) 06:43
 Daniel Taylor Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Ich lebe, mein Herze, zu deinem Ergotzen, BWV 145

13 Aria: Ich lebe, mein Herze, zu deinem Ergotzen (Tenor, Soprano) 03:31
14 Recitative: Nun fordre, Moses, wie du willt (Tenor) 00:59
15 Aria: Merke, mein Herze, bestandig nur dies (Bass) 03:05
16 Recitative: Mein Jesu lebt (Soprano) 00:44
17 ChoraleL Drum wir auch billig frohlich sein (Chorus) 00:39
 Angharad Gruffydd Jones Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist
 John Eliot Gardiner Conductor

The series goes from strength to strength with Volume 22, comprising of Easter Cantatas from Eisenach where Bach spent the first ten years of his life, recorded in the church of St George where he was baptised and had been a chorister. Eisenach is where "Bach meets Luther", with the latter also having sung here and having penned his German translations of the New Testament while confined in the Wartburg castle which overlooks the town. The performances recorded formed part of a service where the sense of Easter as the pivotal feast of the Lutheran liturgical year was palpable.

Bach’s setting of Luther’s hymn Christ lag in Todesbanden, BWV 4 Christ lag in Todesbanden, is one of his earliest cantatas, a bold and innovative piece of musical drama with, at its heart, a battle between the forces of life and death from which the risen Christ emerges as victor. In seven verses and drawing on medieval musical roots, Bach’s setting is evidence of his total identification with the spirit and letter of Luther’s fiery, dramatic hymn, and this comes across clearly in this moving performance. Alongside BWV 6 Bleib bei uns, denn es will Abend werden" & BWV 31 Der Himmel lacht! Die Erde jubliieret, this magnificent set also includes BWV 66 Erfreut euch, ihr Herzen, a skilful adaptation of a lost birthday serenata for Leopold of Anhalt-Cöthen, the joyous BWV 134 Ein Herz, das seinen Jesum lebend weiß, composed for Easter Tuesday of 1724 and the exuberant BWV 145 Ich lebe, mein Herze, zu deinem Ergötzen.


"Sir John Eliot Gardiner’s series of the complete Bach cantatas [...] has been an outstanding achievement from the very start, both in terms of excellent recording quality and brilliant musicianship. This [new] release of cantatas for Easter seems to have an extra dimension of spirituality and atmosphere"

No User Reviews Found.