Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

SG 0131
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
SDG Logo
SG 0131
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 23 (Gardiner) - BWV 42, 67, 85, 104, 112, 150, 158

The Classical Shop
release date: October 2013

Originally recorded in 2000


English Baroque Soloists


John Eliot Gardiner


Katherine Fuge


Daniel Taylor


William Towers


Gillian Keith


Norbert Meyn


Charles Daniels


Stephen Varcoe


Monteverdi Choir


Record Label




Total Time - 111:00
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 23 (Gardiner) - BWV 42, 67, 85, 104, 112, 150, 158




Select Complete Single Disc for

Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich, BWV 150

1 Sinfonia 01:40
2 Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich (Chorus) 03:23
3 Aria: Doch bin und bleibe ich vergnugt (Soprano) 01:25
4 Leite mich in deiner Wahrheit (Chorus) 01:52
5 Aria (Terzetto): Zedern mussen von den Winden (Alto, Tenor, Bass) 01:24
6 Meine Augen sehen stets zu dem Herrn (Chorus) 02:03
7 Ciacona: Meine Tage in dem Leide (Chorus) 02:56
 Gillian Keith Soloist
 Daniel Taylor Soloist

Halt im Gedachtnis Jesum Christ, BWV 67

8 Halt im Gedachtnis Jesum Christ (Chorus) 02:44
9 Aria: Mein Jesus ist erstanden (Tenor) 02:12
10 Recitative: Mein Jesu, heissest du des Todes Gift (Alto) 00:30
11 Chorale: Erschienen ist der herrlich Tag (Chorus) 00:35
12 Recitative: Doch scheinet fast (Alto) 00:47
13 Aria: Friede sei mit euch! (Bass, Chorus) 05:11
14 Chorale: Du Friedefurst, Herr Jesu Christ (Chorus) 00:56
 Daniel Taylor Soloist
 Charles Daniels Soloist

Am Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats, BWV 42

15 Sinfonia 05:46
16 Recitative: Am Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats (Tenor) 00:35
17 Aria: Wo zwei und drei versammelt sind (Alto) 12:32
18 Chorale (Duet): Verzage nicht, o Hauflein klein (Soprano, Tenor) 02:20
19 Recitative: Man kann hiervon ein schon Exempel sehen (Bass) 00:38
20 Aria: Jesus ist ein Schild der Seinen (Bass) 03:00
21 Chorale: Verleih uns Frieden gnadiglich (Chorus) 01:58
 Gillian Keith Soloist
 Daniel Taylor Soloist

Der Friede sei mit dir, BWV 158

22 Recitative: Der Freide sei mit dir (Bass) 01:41
23 Aria with Chorale: Welt, ade, ich bin dein mude (Bass, Soprano Chorus) 08:16
24 Recitative and Arioso: Nun Herr, regiere meinen Sinn (Bass) 01:18
25 Chorale: Hier ist das rechte Osterlamm (Chorus) 01:24
 Stephen Varcoe Soloist

Select Complete Single Disc for

Du Hirte Israel, hore, BWV 104

1 Du Hirte Israel, hore (Chorus) 04:08
2 Recitative: Der hochste Hirte sorgt vor mich (Tenor) 00:39
3 Aria: Verbirgt mein Hirte sich zu lange (Tenor) 03:03
4 Recitative: Ja, dieses Wort ist meiner Seelen Speise (Bass) 00:46
5 Aria: Begluckte Herde, Jesu Schafe (Bass) 06:53
6 Chorale: Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt (Chorus) 01:01
 Norbert Meyn Soloist
 Stephen Varcoe Soloist

Ich bin ein guter Hirt, BWV 85

7 Aria: Ich bin ein guter Hirt (Bass) 03:12
8 Aria: Jesus ist ein guter Hirt (Alto) 03:08
9 Chorale: Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt (Soprano) 04:51
10 Recitative: Wenn die Mietlinge schlafen (Tenor) 00:58
11 Aria: Seht, was die Liebe tut (Tenor) 02:41
12 Chorale: Ist Gott mein Schutz und treuer Hirt (Chorus) 00:58
 Katherine Fuge Soloist
 William Towers Soloist

Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt, BWV 112

13 Versus I: Chorale: Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt (Chorus) 02:27
14 Versus II: Aria: Zum reinen Wasser er mich weist (Alto) 03:19
15 Versus III: Recitative: Und ob ich wandert im finstern Tal (Bass) 01:34
16 Versus IV: Duet: Du bereitest fur mir einen Tisch (Soprano, Tenor) 03:14
17 Versus V: Chorale: Gutes und die Barmherzigkeit (Chorus) 01:02
 Katherine Fuge Soloist
 William Towers Soloist
 John Eliot Gardiner Conductor

With the twelfth release the Bach Cantata Pilgrimage moves on to Arnstadt, where in 1703 an eighteen-year-old Bach was appointed organist of the Neue Kirche. It is fitting that this new release opens with the astonishing BWV 150 Nach dir, Herr, verlanget mich, now generally accepted to be Bach’s very first church cantata and possibly composed for the Neue Kirche at some stage during his time as organist. We enter a different world with BWV 67 Halt im Gedächtnis Jesum Christ. From the superb opening chorale fantasia, the music vibrates with a pulsating rhythmic energy and a wealth of invention. Evidently much thought went into the planning of this impressive cantata, the first in a sequence of five leading up to Whit Sunday. Hard on the heels of Bach’s magnificent cantatas for Low Sunday came three pastoral cantatas all inspired by the twenty-third Psalm.

Recorded during the opening concert of the Festival International Echternach in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, BWV 104 Du Hirte Israel, höre, from Bach’s first Leipzig cycle, displays the clearest of aspiring, upward tonal designs. BWV 112 Der Herr ist mein getreuer Hirt is a late addition to Bach’s chorale-cantata cycle. All five verses of this superb cantata are tailored to the expression of the text, the music imaginatively and cunningly conceived, an example of Bach drawing on his experience and skill to articulate his religious convictions and to exhort, stimulate and charm his listeners.

No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.