Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

SG 0147
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
SDG Logo
SG 0147
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 5 (Gardiner) - BWV 45, 46, 101, 102, 136, 178

The Classical Shop
release date: October 2013

Originally recorded in 2008


John Eliot Gardiner


Daniel Taylor


Joanne Lunn


Robin Tyson


Christoph Genz


Monteverdi Choir


English Baroque Soloists


Record Label




Total Time - 118:05
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 5 (Gardiner) - BWV 45, 46, 101, 102, 136, 178




Select Complete Single Disc for

Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns halt, BWV 178

1 Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns halt (Chorus) 05:35
2 Recitative and Chorale: Was Menschenkraft und -witz anfaht (Alto) 01:47
3 Aria: Gleichwie die wilden Meereswellen (Bass) 03:29
4 Chorale: Sie stellen uns wie Ketzern nach (Tenor) 01:44
5 Chorale and Recitative: Auf sperren sie den Rachen weit (Alto, Tenor, Bass) 01:19
6 Aria: Schweig, schweig nur, taumelnde Vernunft! (Tenor) 03:41
7 Chorale: Die Feind sind all in deiner Hand 01:48
 Robin Tyson Soloist
 Christoph Genz Soloist

Erforsche mich, Gott, und erfahre mein Herz, BWV 136

8 Chorus: Erforsche mich, Gott, und erfahre mein Herz 04:12
9 Recitative: Ach, dass der Fluch, so dort (Tenor) 01:15
10 Aria: Es kommt ein Tag (Alto) 04:09
11 Recitative: Die Himmel selber sind nicht rein (Bass) 01:05
12 Duet: Uns treffen zwar der Sunden (Tenor, Bass) 04:11
13 Chorale: Dein Blut, der edle Saft 00:51
 Robin Tyson Soloist
 Christoph Genz Soloist

Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, was gut ist, BWV 45

14 Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, was gut ist (Chorus) 04:57
15 Recitative: Der Hochste lasst mich seinen Willen wissen (Tenor) 00:45
16 Aria: Weiss ich Gottes Rechte (Tenor) 03:39
17 Arioso: Es werden viele zu mir sagen (Bass) 02:42
18 Aria: Wer Gott bekennt aus wahrem Herzensgrund (Alto) 03:43
19 Recitative: So wird denn Herz und Mund (Alto) 00:49
20 Chorale: Gib, dass ich tu mit Fleiss (Chorus) 01:08
 Robin Tyson Soloist
 Christoph Genz Soloist

Select Complete Single Disc for

Schauet doch und sehet, ob irgend ein Schmerz sei, BWV 46

1 Schauer doch und sehet (Chorus) 06:45
2 Recitative: So klage, du zerstorte Gottesstadt (Tenor) 02:05
3 Aria: Dein Wetter zog sich auf von weiten (Bass) 03:09
4 Recitative: Doch bildet euch, o Sunder, ja nicht ein (Alto) 00:51
5 Aria: Doch Jesus will auch bei der Strafe (Alto) 04:19
6 Chorale: O grosser Gott von Treu (Chorus) 01:43
 Daniel Taylor Soloist
 Christoph Genz Soloist

Nimm von uns Herr, du treuer Gott, BWV 101

7 Nimm von uns Herr, du treuer Gott (Chorus) 05:33
8 Aria: Handle nicht nach deinen Rechten (Tenor) 03:16
9 Recitative: Ach! Herr Gott, durch die Treue dein (Soprano) 02:08
10 Aria: Warum willst du so zornig sein? (Bass) 05:17
11 Recitative: Die Sund hat uns verderbet sehr (Tenor) 01:40
12 Aria Duet: Gedenk an Jesu bittern Tod! (Soprano, Alto) 06:13
13 Chorale: Leit uns mit deiner rechten Hand (Chorus) 00:53
 Joanne Lunn Soloist
 Daniel Taylor Soloist

Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben, BWV 102

14 Part I: Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben (Chorus) 05:17
15 Part I: Recitative: Wo ist das Ebenbild, das Gott uns eingepraget (Bass) 00:59
16 Part I: Aria: Weh der Seele, die den Schaden nicht mehr kennt (Alto) 05:15
17 Part I: Arioso: Verachtest du den Reichtum seiner Gnade (Bass) 02:40
18 Part II: Aria: Erschrecke doch, du allzu sichre Seele (Tenor) 04:03
19 Part II: Recitative: Beim Warten ist Gafahr (Alto) 01:23
20 Part II: Chorale: Heut lebst du, heut bekehre dich (Chorus) 01:47
 Daniel Taylor Soloist
 Christoph Genz Soloist
 John Eliot Gardiner Conductor

John Eliot Gardiner’s Choral Pilgrimage exploring the magnificence and grandeur of all of Bach’s cantatas continues with this double-album release, combining cantatas for the eighth and tenth Sunday after Trinity, recorded live in August 2000.

For the first set of Cantatas we join John Eliot in Rendsburg, Germany and begin with a performance of the glorious, vehement BWV 178 Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns hält, premiered in Leipzig on 20th July 1724. Deriving from the Gospel reading (Matthew 7:15-23), the cantata warns against hypocrites and false prophets. With its opening powerful chorus described as ’quite astonishing’ by John Eliot, the mood is set for this chilling cantata fraught with anger and a grim mood of foreboding. In contrast, hope and belief permeate the following two cantatas; BWV 136 Erforsche mich, Gott, und erfahre mein Herz and BWV 45 Es ist dir gesagt, Mensch, wasgutist. The penitential tone of BWV 136 is stressed through the beautifully crafted pleas of ’Prüfe mich’ (’Try me’) which appear in the extensive opening choral fugue. BWV 45 is Bach’s last surviving cantata for this Sunday and is replete with emotional turmoil. 

We are then taken further south to Braunschweig, Germany and open with Bach’s first Leipzig cantata for this Sunday, BWV 46 Schauet doch und sehet, ob irgendein Schmerz sei. Here on the tenth Sunday after Trinity the Gospel (Luke 19:41-48) tells us how Jesus predicted the imminent destruction of Jerusalem. Bach, unsurprisingly, excels producing a richly thematic cantata depicting clearly the story’s vivid, unsettling patterns of destruction and restoration, of God’s anger and Christ’s mercy. The antithesis between God’s anger and mercy resurfaces in Bach’s two later cantatas for this Sunday; BWV 101 Nimm von uns Herr, du treuer Gott and BWV 102 Herr, deine Augen sehen nach dem Glauben! In contrast to BWV 101 that is based largely on the hymn of the day sung to the melody of Luther’s German version of the Lord’s Prayer, BWV 102 does not, stressing again Bach’s innovative and unpredictable genius. With their customary brilliance and expert musicianship, the Monteverdi Choir and the English Baroque Soloists triumph, making this the ideal next instalment in what many have already come to regard as the first choice of recorded Bach Cantata series.

"All in all, two more wonderful releases from perhaps the most impressive recording project of our times"

No User Reviews Found.