Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

SG 0153
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
SDG Logo
SG 0153
(this is a multiple CD album sold separately)

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 20 (Gardiner) - BWV 18, 84, 92, 126, 144, 181

The Classical Shop
release date: October 2013

Originally recorded in 2009


John Eliot Gardiner


James Gilchrist


Angharad Gruffydd Jones


Gillian Keith


Miah Persson


Robin Tyson


Wilke te Brummelstroete


Monteverdi Choir


English Baroque Soloists


Record Label




Total Time - 95:05
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless

BACH, J.S.: Cantatas, Vol. 20 (Gardiner) - BWV 18, 84, 92, 126, 144, 181




Select Complete Single Disc for

Nimm was dein ist, und gehe hin, BWV 144

1 Nimm, was dein ist, und gehe hin (Chorus) 01:38
2 Aria: Murre nicht, lieber Christ (Alto) 05:19
3 Chorale: Was Gott tut, das ist wohlgetan (Chorus) 00:46
4 Recitative: Wo die Genugsamkeit regiert (Tenor) 00:52
5 Aria: Genugsamkeit ist ein Schatz in diesem Leben (Soprano) 02:53
6 Chorale: Was mein Gott will, das gscheh allzeit (Chorus) 01:12
 Miah Persson Soloist
 Wilke te Brummelstroete Soloist

Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Glucke, BWV 84

7 Aria: Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Glucke (Soprano) 05:34
8 Recitative: Gott ist mir ja nichts schuldig (Soprano) 01:20
9 Aria: Ich esse mit Freuden mein weniges Brot (Soprano) 04:13
10 Recitative: Im Schweisse meines Angesichts (Soprano) 00:52
11 Chorale: Ich leb indes in dir vergnuget (Chorus) 01:00
 Miah Persson Soloist

Ich hab in Gottes Herz und Sinn, BWV 92

12 Ich hab in Gottes Herz und Sinn (Chorus) 05:23
13 Chorale and Recitative: Es kann mir fehlen nimmermehr (Bass) 03:27
14 Aria: Seht, seht! wie reisst, wie bricht, wie fallt (Tenor) 02:50
15 Chorale: Zudem ist Weisheit und Verstand (Alto) 03:08
16 Recitative: Wir wollen nun nicht langer zagen (Tenor) 01:12
17 Aria: Das Sturmen von den rauhen Winden (Bass) 04:21
18 Chorale and Recitative: Ei nun, mein Gott, so fall ich dir (Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass) 02:15
19 Aria: Meinem Hirten bleib ich treu (Soprano) 03:32
20 Chorale: Soll ich denn auch des Todes Weg (Chorus) 01:20
 Miah Persson Soloist
 Wilke te Brummelstroete Soloist

Select Complete Single Disc for

Gleichwie der Regen und Schnee vom Himmel fallt, BWV 18

1 Sinfonia 03:16
2 Recitative: Gleichwie der Regen und Schnee vom Himmle fallt (Bass) 01:08
3 Chorale Recitative: Mein Gott, hier wird mein Herze sein (Tenor, Bass) 05:16
4 Aria: Mein Seelenschatz ist Gottes Wort (Soprano) 02:43
5 Chorale: Ich bitt, o Herr, aus Herzensgrund 01:09
 Gillian Keith Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist

Leichtgesinnte Flattergeister, BWV 181

6 Aria: Leichtgesinnte Flattergeister (Bass) 02:47
7 Recitative: O ungluckselger Stand verkehrter Seelen (Alto) 01:36
8 Aria: Der schadlichen Dornen unendliche Zahl (Tenor) 02:37
9 Recitative: Von diesen wird die Kraft erstickt (Soprano) 00:40
10 Lass, Hochster, uns zu allen Zeiten (Chorus) 04:14
 Angharad Gruffydd Jones Soloist
 Robin Tyson Soloist

Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort, BWV 126

11 Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort (Chorus) 02:23
12 Aria: Sende deine Macht von oben (Tenor) 03:48
13 Recitative and Choral: Der Menschen Gunst und Macht (Alto, Tenor) 02:13
14 Aria: Sturze zu Boden schwulstige Stolze! (Bass) 05:07
15 Recitative: So wird dein Wort und Wahrheit offenbar (Tenor) 00:55
16 Chorale: Verleih uns Frieden gnadiglich (Chorus) 02:06
 Robin Tyson Soloist
 James Gilchrist Soloist
 John Eliot Gardiner Conductor

A double album featuring cantatas for the second and third Sunday before Lent, recorded live in February 2000. 

The Monteverdi Choir and the English Baroque Soloists, under the direction of John Eliot Gardiner, perform in Naarden, Holland for a performance of Bach’s cantatas for Septuagesima. The programme opens with Bach’s first Leipzig cycle, BWV 144 Nimm, was dein ist, und gehe hin - a cantata encapsulated by the moral drawn by Bach’s librettist from the Gospel for the day: accept and be satisfied with your lot, however unfair it may seem at the time. Following the magnificent bold and uncompromising opening, the moral of the cantata is beautifully portrayed in Murre nicht, lieber Christ - an aria set as a minuet for alto over a pulsating string accompaniment to represent the mutterings of dissatisfied Christians. In contrast, the engaging five-movement work for solo soprano, oboe and strings, BWV 84 Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Glücke, has no mention of the disgruntled work-force, but only of being ‘content with my good fortune that dear God bestows on me.’ Gardiner stresses this sentiment by making the choir sing the final chorale Ich leb indes in dir vergnüget (‘I live meanwhile content in thee’) a cappella and quietly. ‘I found it very affecting’, writes Gardiner. The programme ends with the third of Bach’s surviving cantatas for this Sunday, BWV 92 Ich hab in Gottes Herz und Sinn. Unlike the previous two cantatas, the text does not relate specifically to either of the appointed Bible readings, but asks the congregation to surrender to God’s heart and mind and to trust in Him through good and ill. 

We then head to Southwell Minster for Bach’s cantatas for Sexagesima, three of his most original and startlingly different pre-Lenten cantatas. Each of these cantatas is characterised by Bach’s vivid pictorial imagination, an arresting sense of drama, and by music of freshness and power that lodges in the memory. The first two focus upon the Gospel theme of the day - (the parable of the sower (Luke 8: 4-15) - superbly exemplified in BWV 18 Gleichwie der Regen und Schnee vom Himmel fällt where Bach adds two extra viola parts to the score. The magically dark-hued sonority four violas bring stresses the overwhelming power of the Word and forms ‘an ideal seed-bed in which God’s word may germinate and prosper.’ Equally vivid and brilliant is BWV 181 Leichtgesinnte Flattergeister where, in contrast to BWV 18, Bach focuses upon those superficial, fickle people who devour the seed that ‘fell by the wayside’. 

We end with BWV 126 Erhalt uns, Herr, bei deinem Wort, a cantata that places emphasis upon the wonder and majesty of God’s Word. ‘Erhalt uns, Herr’ (‘Uphold us, Lord’) exalt the trumpet and voices in the opening chorus, reminding the congregation that ‘God’s throne cannot be budged’.

"The standards of performance and presentation are as high in this latest instalment of Gardiner’s cantata cycle as they have been in previous issues. The series continues its impressive progress"

No User Reviews Found.