Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

TO 0141
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Toccata Logo
TO 0141

Leo Ornstein - Piano Music, Volume 1

The Classical Shop
release date: June 2013

Originally recorded in 2011


Arsentiy Kharitonov

- (piano)


Margot & Bill Winspear Performance Hall, University of North Texas

20-22 Dec 2011


Blair Liikala

Record Label



Total Time - 71:27
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless
Select Complete Single Disc for
  Piano Music, Volume 1  

Four Impromptus, S300A

1 No.1 Moderato 5:14
2 No.2 Epitaph: Moderato espressivo 3:48
3 No.3 An Interlude: Andante 4:34
4 No.4 A Bit of Nostalgia: Moderato 3:21

Piano Sonata No.4, S360

5 I Moderato con moto 5:21
6 II Semplice 5:51
7 III Lento 4:04
8 IV Vivo 6:56

In the Country, S63 *

9 No.1 The Gypsy Lament: moderato con moto 1:28
10 No.2 The Old Dungeon: Andante misterioso 1:51
11 No.3 A Fiary Dance: Tempo rubato 1:08
12 No.4 The Cathedral Bells and the Choir: Moderato non troppo 1:46
13 No.5 The Merry-Go-Round: Vivo e ritmico 0:49

Cossack Impressions, S55*

14 No.1 Evening Song: Maestoso 3:11
15 No.2 Maidens at the Fountain: Andante comodo rubato 2:06
16 No.3 Mazurka: Con vivo 1:03
17 No.4 Moonlight in the Mountains: Andante amabile 2:04
18 No.5 Grief: Moderato con tristezza 2:12
19 No.6 The Waltz: Tempo di Valse 1:27
20 No.7 The Nocturne: Lento 1:40
21 No.8 At Dawn: Impazientemente 2:00
22 No.9 The Dance: Allegretto con spirito 1:37
23 No.10 The Love Song: Andante con sentimento 1:31
24 No.11 The March: Tempo alla marcia 1:35
25 No.12 Méditation: Languido 2:11
26 No.13 At the Festival: Allegro molto 2:39

The Russian-born American composer Leo Ornstein (1893–2002) lived long enough – an astonishing 109 years – to see his music both fall into and re-emerge from obscurity. His earliest surviving work dates from around 1905; his last was composed in 1990. Not surprisingly, his music embraces a range of styles, ranging on this first album – in the first extended series devoted to his piano works – from the atmospheric impressionism of the Four Impromptus via the fiery virtuosity of the Fourth Piano Sonata to the Rachmaninov-like Romanticism of the Cossack Impressions and In the Country.

No Internal Reviews Found.

No User Reviews Found.