Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

TO 0163
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Toccata Logo
TO 0163

Ernst - Complete Music, Volume Three

The Classical Shop
release date: May 2013

Originally recorded in 2011


Ian Hobson

- (piano)

Sherban Lupu

- (violin)


Foellinger Great Hall of the Krannett Center for the Performing Arts, University of Illinois

10,11 & 16 May 2011


Samir Golescu


Christopher Ericson

Record Label




Total Time - 80:52
background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless
Select Complete Single Disc for
  Complete Music, Volume Three  



Introduction et Variations Brillantes en form de Fantaisie pour le violon sur le Quatuor favori de Ludovic de F. Halévy, Op.6

1 Introduction: Moderato 3:45
2 Thema: Moderato 1:09
3 Var. 1: Risoluto 1:29
4 Var. 2 1:23
5 Var. 3 1:10
6 Var. 4 1:41
7 Molto Adagio 1:28
8 Allegretto moderato 0:37
9 Finale: Lostesso Tempo 1:00

Élégie sur la mort d'un objet chéri, Op.10

10 Introduction by Louis Spohr 2:11
11 Élégie 7:08

Introduction, Variations et Final, Dialogués & Concertans sur une Valse favorite pour Piano et Violon par Charles Schunke et H.W. Ernst, (Schunke's) Op.26

12 Introduzione: Moderato maestoso 3:27
13 Tema 0:57
14 Var. 1: Meno Vivo 0:53
15 Var. 2 0:51
16 Var. 3: Brillante ma moderato 1:13
17 Var. 4: Andantino pastorale 2:05
18 Finale 4:33

Pensées Fugitives, Part II

19 No.7 Rêverie: Quasi Allegretto 3:49
20 No.8 Un Caprice: Allegro assai 2:06
21 No.9 Inquiétude: Adagio 3:28
22 No.10 Prière pendant l'orage: Allegro non troppo 2:59
23 No.11 Intermezzo: Allegro poco agitato 3:06
24 No.12 Thème original de H.W. Ernst: Allegretto 1:12
25 Variation: Moderato 1:25
26 Presto carpiccioso: Presto 4:34

Souvenirs de l'Opéra La Juive de F. Halevy pour Piano et Violon Concertants Composés par Osborne et Ernst

27 Adagio 4:03
28 Allegro 4:04

Airs hongrois variés, Op.22

29 Introduction: Molto moderato 0:31
30 Thema I 1:24
31 Variazione: Molto moderato 1:45
32 Più mosso 0:44
33 Thema II: Andante con molt' espressione 1:41
34 Molto più mosso, quasi del doppia 0:33
35 Cadenza (Arthur Hartmann) 2:47
36 Thema III: Allegretto moderato, con molto spirito 3:41

Heinrich Wilhelm Ernst (1812–65) was one of the leading musicians of his day, a friend of Berlioz, Chopin, Liszt and Mendelssohn, and for Joseph Joachim ‘the greatest violinist I ever heard’. But the popular encore pieces by which Ernst is remembered today represent only a fraction of his output. This third album – in a series of seven presenting all his compositions for the first time – shows the full range of his creativity and charm. The Élégie sur la mort d’un objet chéri is written in his most moving and melancholy vein, and the Airs hongrois variés push the virtuoso violin to its absolute limits. Between these extremes lie the lyricism of the Pensées fugitives, the inventiveness of his treatment of two Halévy operas and the high spirits of his fantasy on a Strauss waltz.

"... For those who haven’t yet discovered the riches of Toccata’s series, this third volume might be as good a place as any to begin - but surely not to end... The volumes of this series ought to pass directly through the Want List into the Hall of Fame ... Not recommended for those with heart problems, and so forth. They’re that exciting."

Robert Maxham - Fanfare - July/August 2013

No User Reviews Found.