Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image

WH 0042
StarStarStarStarStar Rating
Log in to be the first to review this disc
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Wigmore Hall Logo
WH 0042

Handel - Il Trionfo del Tempo e del Disingnno

The Classical Shop
release date: January 2011

Originally recorded in 2011


Lucy Crowe


Hilary Summers


Anna Stephany


Andrew Staples


Early Opera Company


Wigmore Hall, London

29 Jan 2010


Jeremy Hayes


Steve Portnoi

Record Label
Wigmore Hall


Early Music


Total Time - 136:01
Background Image Background Image Background Image
background image
Customers who bought this album, also bought...

Scroll Scroll

background image
mp3question marklosslessoff  
*when you purchase a lossless format, we include the MP3 free of charge
Please Note: On Mp3 format an unavoidable click may be heard on segue track breaks, to avoid this issue please select lossless
Select Complete Single Disc for



Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno HWV46A

1 SONATA Allegro - Adagio - Allegro 4:59
2 Parte Prima Aria BELLEZZA Fido specchio 4:22
3 Recitative PIACERE & BELLEZZA Io che sono il Piacere... 0:27
4 Aria PIACERE Fosco genio 3:06
5 Recitative TEMPO & DISINGANNO Ed io che'l Tempo sono... 0:22
6 Aria DISINGANNO Se la bellezza 2:52
7 Recitative ALL Dunque si predan l'armi 0:17
8 Aria BELLEZZA Una schiera di piaceri 3:44
9 Recitative TEMPO I colossi del Sole 0:17
10 Aria TEMPO Urne voi 3:43
11 Recitative PIACERE Sono troppo crudeli i tuoi consigli 0:15
12 Duet BELLEZZA & PIACERE Il voler 5:13
13 Recitative DISINGANNO & BELLEZZA Della vita mortale 0:33
14 Aria BELLEZZA Un pensiero nemico di pace 3:53
15 Recitative DISINGANNO, PIAERE & BELLEZZA Folle 0:57
16 Aria TEMPO Nasce l'uomo 2:09
17 Aria DISINGANNO L'uomo sempre se stesso distrugge 2:25
18 Recitative PIACERE Questa è la reggia mia 1:21
19 ORGAN SONATA [Allegro] 2:47
20 Aria PIACERE Un leggiadro giovinetto 3:29
21 Recitative BELLEZZA Ha della destra l'ali 0:10
22 Aria BELLEZZA Venga il Tempo 3:13
23 Aria DISINGANNO Crede l'uom 5:35
24 Recitative TEMPO & BELLEZZA Tu credi che sia lungi 1:01
25 Aria TEMPO Folle 3:17
26 Recitative DISINGANNO & TEMPO La reggia del Piacer vedesti 0:18
27 Quartet Se non sei più ministro di pene 4:28
28 Parte Seconda Recitative TEMPO Se del falso piacere 1:04
29 Aria PIACERE Chiudi 3:34
30 Recitative TEMPO In tre parti divise 0:47
31 Aria BELLEZZA Io sperai 6:32
32 Recitative PIACERE Tu vivi invan dolente 0:13
33 Aria PIACERE Tu giurasti 3:57
34 Recitative TEMPO Sguardo, che infermo ai rai del Sol si volge 0:26
35 Aria BELLEZZA (WITH DISINGANNO) Io vorrei 3:34
36 Recitative DISINGANNO & BELLEZZA Io giuereri 0:39
37 Aria DISINGANNO Più non cura 3:52
38 Recitative TEMPO E un ostinato errore 0:19
39 Aria TEMPO È ben folle quel nocchier 2:28
40 Recitative BELLEZZA Dicesti il vero 0:18
41 Quartet Voglio Tempo 4:26
42 Recitative BELLEZZA & DISINGANNO Presso la reggia 1:11
43 Aria PIACERE Lascia la spina 4:37
44 Recitative BELLEZZA & DISINGANNO Con troppo chiare note 0:26
45 Aria BELLEZZA Voglio cangiar desio 4:59
46 Recitative BELLEZZA, PIACERE & DISINGANNO Or che tiene 0:18
47 Aria DISINGANNO Chi già fu 2:23
48 Recitative BELLEZZA Ma che veggio 0:42
49 Aria BELLEZZA Ricco pino 4:07
50 Recitative BELLEZZA Si, bella Penitenza 0:47
51 Duet DISINGANNO & TEMPO Il bel pianto 6:02
52 Recitative BELLEZZA Piacer, che meco già vivesti 0:30
53 Aria PIACERE Come nembo 5:30
54 Recitative BELLEZZA Pure del Cielo intelligenze eterne 0:50
55 Aria BELLEZZA Tu del Ciel ministro eletto 6:17

Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno – Lucy Crowe, Anna Stephany, Hilary Summers, Andrew Staples, Early Opera Company, Christian Curnyn

Dealing with the theme of pleasure, and focussing on the three characters of Beauty, Enlightenment, and Time, Handel’s Il trionfo del Tempo e del Disinganno was the composer’s first opera to feature the celebrated aria ‘Lascia la spina, cogli la rosa’ (Avoid the thorn, pluck the rose).

The work was recorded for Wigmore Hall Live in January 2010 by the Early Opera Company, one of Britain’s leading early music ensembles. The group features the contralto Hilary Summers in the traditional countertenor role of Enlightenment, her voice specifically chosen for its depth and fullness of tone.

Christian Curnyn, the group’s director and harpsichordist, was determined to recreate a sound as faithful as possible to what audiences at the time would have heard, not only instrumentally but, notably, in relation to tempi:

‘Everything in Handel comes back to the heartbeat rate, fifty per minute. Recently people have tended to go either very fast or make things very dragged out, but in my view that spoils it. Baroque music is all based on dance, which means a natural rhythm. Of course, you should push the boundaries, but it should feel as though you’re pushing against a natural membrane. There’s an inner pulse in Handel which you can’t ignore.’

"Plenty of verve and detail in this intimate account of Handel’s first Roman oratorio."

David Vickers - Gramophone May 2011

           "Choral & Song Choice"
Performance *****      Recording *****

"Superb performances, reflecting exuberance and reflectiveness ... an outstanding achievement."

George Pratt - BBC Music Magazine,  April 11       

No User Reviews Found.