The Soul's Ransom* 47:04  
  A Psalm of the Poor  
  (Sinfonia Sacra)  
  for soprano, bass, chorus and orchestra  
  Section 1  
1 Introduction. Lento - 4:17
2 'Who can number the sands of the sea'. Lento - 8:17
  Section 2  
3 'Hear ye this, O ye people'. Allegro agitato - 4:21
  Bass solo  
4 'We look for light, but behold darkness'. Moderato maestoso - 3:21
5 'Why are ye so fearful, O ye of little faith?' Lento 7:10
  Soprano solo and chorus  
  Section 3  
6 'The hand of the Lord was upon me'. Maestoso 9:29
  Bass solo and chorus  
  Section 4  
7 'The people that walked in darkness'. Moderato, energico - 5:00
  Soprano solo  
8 'See how, ye that love the light'. Moderato, tranquillo 5:06
 The Lotos-Eaters† 32:39  
  for soprano, chorus and orchestra  
9 I 'There is sweet music here that softer fall'. Andante tranquillo - 3:36
10 II 'Why are we weigh'd upon with heaviness'. Allegro - 1:39
11 III 'Lo! in the middle of the wood' - 2:40
  Soprano solo  
12 IV 'Hateful is the dark-blue sky'. Allegro moderato - 2:23
13 V 'How sweet it were, hearing the downward stream'. Andante tranquillo - 4:25
  Soprano solo  
14 VI 'Dear is the memory of our wedded lives'. Moderato - Lento - 4:28
  Men's chorus  
15 VII 'But, propt on beds of amaranth and moly'. Andantino - 2:20
  Soprano solo  
16 VIII 'The Lotos blooms below the barren peak'. Allegro tranquillo - Andante 11:07
  Chorus and soprano solo  
17  Blest pair of Sirens‡ 11:53
  An Ode by Milton  
 Invocation to Music§ 54:57  
  An Ode (in Honour of Henry Purcell) by Robert Bridges  
  for soprano, tenor, bass, chorus and orchestra  
  Introduction -  
18 I 'Myriad voicèd Queen!' Moderato - 5:10
19 II 'Turn, O return!. Allegretto tranquillo 4:05
  Chorus and soprano solo  
20 III 'Thee, fair Poetry oft hath sought'. Allegretto tranquillo 4:33
  Tenor solo  
21 IV 'The monstrous sea'. Maestoso energico 5:34
22 V 'Love to Love calleth'. Andante appassionato 5:17
  Soprano and tenor  
23 VI Dirge. 'Tome, tome, fair-hearted Goddess, come!' Maestoso - 8:05
  Bass solo  
24 VII 'Man, born of desire'. Moderato - 4:55
25 VIII 'Rejoice, ye dead, where'er your spirits dwell'. Più lento 6:10
  Soprano solo and chorus  
26 IX 'O enter with me the gates of delight'. Allegro vivace 5:41
  Soprano, tenor and bass  
27 X 'Thou, O Queen of sinless grace'. Allegro vivo 5:09
28  I was glad‡ 7:10
  Anthem, with words from Psalm 122  
 Anne Dawson soprano§
 Della Jones mezzo-soprano*†
 Arthur Davies tenor§
 Brian Rayner Cook baritone§
 David Wilson-Johnson baritone*
  London Philharmonic Choir  
  London Symphony Chorus  
  London Symphony Orchestra  
 Matthias Bamert *†§
 Richard Hickox ‡
  14-16 February (Blest pair of Sirens, I was glad)  
  25-27 March 1991 (The Soul's Ransom, The Lotos-Eaters)  
  10-11 May 1991 (Invocation to Music)