HANDEL, G.F.: Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato (L') (Neumann)

 L'Allegro, il Penseroso ed il Moderato, HWV 55  
1 Part I: Ouverture (Concerto grosso, Op. 6) 03:42
2 Part I: Accompagnato: Hence, loathed Melancholy (Tenor) 02:30
3 Part I: Accompagnato: Hence, vain deluding joys (Soprano) 01:00
4 Part I: Air: Come, thou Goddess fair and free (Soprano) 01:38
5 Part I: Come rather, Goddess, sage and holy (Soprano) 03:01
6 Part I: Air: Haste thee, nymph (Tenor) 01:14
7 Part I: Air: Haste thee, nymph (Chorus) 01:08
8 Part I: Air: Come and trip it (Tenor) 01:16
9 Part I: Come, and trip it (Chorus) 01:07
10 Part I: Accompagnato: Come, pensive Nun (Soprano) 00:57
11 Part I: Arioso: Come, but keep thy wonted state (Soprano) 01:30
12 Part I: Accompagnato: There, held in holy passion still (Soprano) 03:01
13 Part I: Join with thee (Chorus) 01:16
14 Part I: Recitative: Hence, loathed Melancholy (Tenor) 00:25
15 Part I: Recitative: If I give thee honour due (Soprano) 00:09
16 Part I: Air: Mirth, admit me of thy crew (Soprano) 04:09
17 Part I: Accompagnato: First and chief, on golden wing (Soprano) 00:53
18 Part I: Air: Sweet bird, that shun'st the noise of folly (Soprano) 12:53
19 Part I: Recitativo: If I give thee honour due (Basso) 00:10
20 Part I: Air: Mirth, admit me of thy crew (Bass) 02:16
21 Part I: Air: Oft, on a plat of rising ground (Soprano) 03:05
22 Part I: Air: Far from all resort of mirth (Soprano) 02:49
23 Part I: Recitative: If I give thee honour due (L'Allegro: Tenor) 00:11
24 Part I: Air: Let me wander not unseen (Tenor) 01:49
25 Part I: Air: Straight mine eye (Soprano) 02:08
26 Part I: Accompagnato: Mountains, on whose barren breast (Bass) 01:17
27 Part I: Air: Or let the merry bells ring round (Soprano) 01:22
28 Part I: And young and old come forth to play (Chorus) 02:18
1 Part II: Accompagnato: Hence, vain deluding Joys (Il Penseroso: Soprano) 01:22
2 Part II: Air: Sometimes let gorgeous Tragedy (Soprano) 04:36
3 Part II: Air: But oh, sad virgin (Soprano) 06:39
4 Part II: Recitative: Thus, Night, oft see me (Soprano) 03:05
5 Part II: Populous cities please me then (Basso, Chorus) 03:05
6 Part II: Air: There let Hymen oft appear (Soprano) 02:16
7 Part II: Accompagnato: Me, when the Sun begins to fling (Il Penseroso: Soprano) 00:40
8 Part II: Air: Hide me from Day's garnish eye (Soprano) 03:11
9 Part II: Air: I'll to the well-trod stage anon (Il Allegro: Tenor) 02:25
10 Part II: Air: And ever against eating cares (Soprano) 02:25
11 Part II: Air: Orpheus self may have his head (Soprano) 02:44
12 Part II: These delights if thou canst give (Tenor) 01:42
13 Part II:These delights if thou canst give (Chorus) 01:36
14 Part II: Recitative: But ley my due feet never fail (Il Penseroso: Soprano) 00:41
15 Part II: There let the pealing organ blow (Chorus) 01:41
16 Part II: These pleasures, Melancholy, give (Soprano, Chorus) 04:15
17 Part III: Accompagnato: Hence! Boast not, ye profane (Il Moderato: Bass) 00:25
18 Part III: 43: Air: Come, with native lustre shine (Bass) 02:43
19 Part III: Accompagnato: Sweet Temp'rance (Bass) 00:56
20 Part III: All this company serene (Chorus) 01:35
21 Part III: Air: Come, with gentle hand restrain (Soprano) 01:46
22 Part III: Recitative: No more short life they then will spend in straying (Tenor) 00:44
23 Part III: Air: Each action will derive new grace (Tenor) 02:07
24 Part III: As steals the morn upon the night (Soprano and Tenor) 05:52
25 Part III: Chorus: Thy pleasures, Moderation, give 03:18
 Maria Keohane Soloist
 Julia Doyle Soloist
 Peter Neumann Conductor