GIUSEPPE VERDI (1813-1901)
 Don Carlos 167:29  
  Opera in four acts  
  Libretto by Joseph Méry and Camille du Locle, after Schiller  
  English translation by Andrew Porter  
  Act I  
  Scene 1: At the tomb of Charles V in the Monastery of San Juste  
1 Prelude 2:17
2 'Charles the Fifth, our mighty Lord' 4:01
  Chorus of Friars, Old Monk  
3 'And I have lost her!' 4:09
  Don Carlos, Old Monk  
4 'There he is! The Prince!' 2:39
5 'But the King has not yet discovered your secret?' 1:19
  Rodrigo, Don Carlos  
6 'God who has brought us together' 4:18
  Don Carlos, Rodrigo, Chorus of Friars, Old Monk  
  Scene 2: A garden outside the cloister  
7 'Where the pine grove is green and shady' 3:17
  Chorus, Thibault, Eboli  
8 'In the marble palace of the Moorish King' 4:27
  Eboli, Thibault, Chorus  
9 'The Queen!' 1:52
  Chorus, Eboli, Elisabeth, Thibault, Rodrigo  
10 'I'm so eager to hear the news you bring' 1:57
  Eboli, Rodrigo, Elisabeth  
11 'Carlos my friend, hope of our future' 4:27
  Rodrigo, Eboli, Elisabeth  
12 'I come before the Queen and I ask for a favour' 7:57
13 'Here where I stand let the earth crack asunder' 1:46
  Don Carlos, Elisabeth  
14 'The King!' 1:17
  Thibault, Philip, Chorus  
15 'Don't weep, my dear companion' 4:21
  Elisabeth, Rodrigo, Philip, Chorus  
16 'Remain here! I've seen you at my court' 2:18
  Philip, Rodrigo  
17 'O King, I come here from Flanders' 3:08
18 'What kind of peace is this you give your subjects?' 6:17
  Rodrigo, Philip  
  Act II  
  Scene 1: The Queen's garden  
19 Prelude 2:28
20 'At midnight in the garden of the Queen…' 2:12
  Don Carlos, Eboli  
21 'Alas your youthful mind has no idea' 2:40
  Eboli, Don Carlos, Rodrigo  
22 'Now he has scorned the love I gave him' 3:37
23 'Treacherous son, adult'rous lover' 3:31
  Eboli, Rodrigo, Don Carlos  
  Scene 2: A square in front of the Vallodolid Cathedral, Auto da Fé  
24 'Today is a day of gladness and joy' 6:59
  Chorus of People, Chorus of Monks  
25 'Let the sacred doors now be opened' 2:59
  Royal Herald, Chorus of People, Philip  
26 'O Heav'n! It's Carlos!' 4:55
  Elisabeth, Rodrigo, Philip, Don Carlos, Flemish Deputies, Chorus of Monks, Thibault  
27 'Sire! I have something to ask you!' 1:56
  Don Carlos, Philip, Elisabeth, Rodrigo, Thibault, Monks, Chorus of People  
28 'O heav'n!' 2:41
  Elisabeth, Don Carlos, Chorus of People, Philip, Monks, Voice from Heaven, Flemish Deputies  
  Act III  
  Scene1: The King's study in the Escurial  
29 [Introduction] 2:58
30 'She has no love for me!' 2:32
31 'I'll only sleep when I am laid to rest' 4:23
32 'The Grand Inquisitor' 3:22
  Count of Lerma, Grand Inquisitor, Philip  
33 'In this land of Spain no heresy has thrived' 5:24
  Grand Inquisitor, Philip  
34 'Your highness I ask for justice!' 2:01
  Elisabeth, Philip  
35 'You know full well, my hand was plighted' 2:36
  Elisabeth, Philip, Eboli, Rodrigo  
36 'Accurst be this hour' 4:11
  Philip, Eboli, Rodrigo, Elisabeth  
37 'Forgive! Forgive and pardon a woman who's wronged you' 3:25
  Eboli, Elisabeth  
38 'Oh cruel fate. O hated gift' 4:20
  Scene 2: A prison  
39 'I'm here my Carlos' 3:15
  Rodrigo, Don Carlos  
40 'My last day has dawned forever' 2:32
41 'But why do you speak of death?' 1:39
  Don Carlos, Rodrigo  
42 'O Carlos, now listen, your mother awaits you' 1:08
43 'Now I die, die contented' 2:23
44 'My son I return you your sword' 2:58
  Philip, Don Carlos, Chorus, Chorus of People, Count of Lerma, Grandees of Spain, Eboli, Grand Inquisitor  
  Act IV  
  At the tomb of Charles V  
45 [Introduction] 2:43
46 'You, who spurned and renounced all the world' 2:38
47 'France, my noble land, so dear to me in childhood!' 5:16
48 'She's there!' 5:34
  Don Carlos, Elisabeth  
49 'We shall meet not in this world' 3:49
  Elisabeth, Don Carlos  
50 'Yes, for ever! A double sacrifice is needed!' 1:43
  Philip, Grand Inquisitor, Elisabeth, Don Carlos, Old Monk, Chorus of Monks  
 Alastair Miles bass - Philip II
 Julian Gavin tenor - Don Carlos
 William Dazeley baritone - Rodrigo
 John Tomlinson bass - The Grand Inquisitor
 Janice Watson soprano - Elisabeth de Valois
 Jane Dutton mezzo-soprano - Princess of Eboli
 Julia Sporsén soprano - Thibault
 Stephen Briggs tenor - Count of Lerma
 Clive Bayley bass - An old Monk
 Rebecca Ryan soprano - Voice from Heaven
 Campbell Russell tenor - Royal Herald
 Julian Close bass - Flemish Deputy
 Grant Doyle baritone - Flemish Deputy
 Stephen Richardson bass - Flemish Deputy
 Galloway Bell bass - Flemish Deputy
 Stephen Dowson baritone - Flemish Deputy
 Alexander Ingram (Assistant)
 Richard Farnes
  26-30 May 2009